Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University
 

Faculty & Staff

Head of Art History & Art Conservation: Janice Helland

Graduate Program Chair: Allison Sherman
Undergraduate Program Chair: Cathleen Hoeniger

Jan Allen

Adjunct Professor

Director, Agnes Etherington Art Centre  

Contemporary art with a concentration in Canadian art. Research areas include electronic media art, politically and socially engaged art, the exhibitionary complex and arts policy
(613)533 6000 x77052
jan.allen@queensu.ca

Gauvin Alexander Bailey

Professor and Alfred and Isabel Bader Chair in Southern Baroque Art     

PhD (Harvard University)

16th-18th century Southern and Central European arts and their international diffusion in Latin America and Asia; also the patronage of Catholic religious orders, notably the Society of Jesus (Jesuits); more recently the relationship between Rococo décor and spirituality in France, Central Europe, Iberia, and Latin America

(613) 533 6000 x77344
baileyg@queensu.ca

 

George Bevan

Cross-appointed Assistant Professor
Classics

(613)533-2745

bevan@queensu.ca

Alicia Boutilier 

Adjunct Professor
Curator of Canadian Historical Art, Agnes Etherington Art Centre

Canadian art history, particularly late 19thand early 20th centuries, and histories of Canadian art collecting. 

(613)533-6000 x77054    

alicia.boutilier@queensu.ca

Una D'Elia 

(on sabbatical 2014-2015)

Associate Professor 

Southern European Renaissance and Baroque painting, sculpture, and architecture, with a particular interest in the relationships between art and literature and the Counter Reformation
(613) 533 6000 x78140
deliau@queensu.ca 

 

Stephanie Dickey

Associate Professor and Bader Chair in Northern Baroque Art

Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, New York University)      
Dutch and Flemish art of the seventeenth century, especially Rembrandt and his circle, portraiture, and the history of printmaking      
(613)533 6000 x78774      
dickeys@queensu.ca

Janice Helland

Professor, Head of Art History & Art Conservation  
Ph.D. (Victoria)
Late 19th-century British and Irish arts and crafts, textiles, gender issues, material culture, late 19th and early 20th-century dress and fashion, craft history
(613)533 6000 x75670
hellandj@queensu.ca

Cathleen Hoeniger  

Undergraduate Chair, Professor 
Ph.D. (Princeton)
Medieval and Renaissance Art in Italy, in particular: Raphael and the Reception of his Art; The History of Taste and Collecting in Europe, 1550-1830; and Art, Science and Medicine, 1000-1600, Europe and the Middle East
(613)533 6000 x77346
hoeniger@queensu.ca

Lynda Jessup 

Professor 
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Visual cultural studies, specializing in Native North American and Canadian visual culture. Focusing on art exhibitions, museums and collecting; art historiography, art in tourism, and more recently, on the role of art exhibitions in advancing Canadian foreign policy and international cultural relations
(613)533 6000 x75339
lynda.jessup@queensu.ca 

Susan Lord

Cross-Appointed Faculty,

Head of Department and Associate Professor in the Department of Film and Media. 

Cinema and media arts; cosmopolitanism; new media, gendered spaces and the city; and Cuban cinema and visual culture.  She has undertaken curatorial projects of media arts, worked with artists groups and artist-run centres for over 20 years.

(613)533 6000 x77019

lords@queensu.ca

Allison Morehead 

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D. (Chicago)
French, Scandinavian, and German art of the 19th and early 20th centuries; history of museums and collecting; the art of psychiatric patients; printmaking; intersections 
between art and science; critical theory; historiography
(613)533 6000 x78804
morehead@queensu.ca

 

Matthew Reeve  

Associate Professor and Queen's National Scholar 

FSA (Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London) 
Ph.D. (Cambridge University)
Medieval Art and Architecture, Medievalism in Western Art, Artistic and cultural relationships between the East and West during the 
Crusades; Historiography and Theory of Art History
(613) 533 6000 x75247
reevem@queensu.ca

Clive Robertson 

Associate Professor              
Ph.D. (Communication Studies, Concordia)      
Contemporary art and institutions post-1960 including the cultural politics and practices of art and cultural production; specialties include interdisciplinary research methods, performance art studies, art and activism, and cultural policy studies.      
(613)507 2494      
cr16@queensu.ca

Dylan Robinson 

Assistant Professor & Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts              
DPhil. (University of Sussex)      
(613)533-6000 x78144      
dylan.robinson@queensu.ca

Katherine Romba  

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, NYU)
Modern architecture, modern art, critical theory,
anthropological theory
(613)533 6000 x74171
rombak@queensu.ca

Jane Russell Corbett

Adjunct Professor   
jrc@queensu.ca

Joan M. Schwartz 

Associate Professor and Queen's National Scholar 
Ph.D. (Queen's University)
History of Photography; Nineteenth-Century Photography and the Geographical Imagination; Early Landscape / Travel Photography; Photography in Canada; The Management of Photographic Archives; Photographic Materiality and Meaning; The Photograph as Art/Fact Artifact
(613)533 6000 x75453
schwartz@queensu.ca

Allison Sherman 

Graduate Chair and Director of the Queen’s Venice Summer School 
Ph.D. (University of St Andrews)

Italian Renaissance Art and Architecture, in particular the art of Venice; patronage, history of collecting and reception in 17th and 18th century Venice. 
(613)533-6000 x75833

as90@queensu.ca

Sarah E.K. Smith

Adjunct Professor 

Sarah E.K. Smith 
Ph.D. (Queen's University)

Ron Spronk 

Professor 
Ph.D. (Groningen)
Technical Art History, Early Netherlandish Painting
(613)533 6000 x78288
spronkr@queensu.ca

Pat Sullivan  

Adjunct Professor 
Public Programs Manager, Agnes Etherington Art Centre

Museum education and public programming

(613) 533 6000 x 77053                              
pat.sullivan@queensu.ca    

Norman Vorano 

Assistant Professor & Queen's National Scholar 

Ph.D. Rochester University

(613)533 6000 x77350

norman.vorano@queensu.ca

Pierre du Prey

Professor Emeritus and Queen's Research Chair       Emeritus      
Ph.D. (Princeton)  
History of Architecture in the Classical Tradition in Europe and North America, Architectural Education, Architectural Books and Drawings  
(613)533 6000 x77349  
pduprey@queensu.ca

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000