Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

Civil Engineering Teaching Assistant Award

Nature of Award

The object of the Civil Engineering Teaching Assistants Award is to encourage and recognize excellent performance by teaching assistants in undergraduate civil engineering courses. Two awards are made each academic session: one in December for the fall term and one in April for the winter term.

Nomination Criteria

Nominees should exhibit a value of learning, availability to students, good organizational skills and motivation.

Nomination Procedure

The Civil Club will receive nominations from students enrolled in 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year Civil Engineering courses. A Civil Club representative will submit, in the form of a letter to the Head, two (or in exceptional cases, one) nominations for the award. The 'year' must have had the persons nominated as teaching assistants in the term for which the award is being made. This letter should be submitted by December 1 for the fall term, and by April 1 for the winter term. It should include short statements on the reasons for nominating each person and a description of the process by which their classmates were surveyed.

Selection Process

The Head of Department will select the award winners on the basis on nominations received.

Presentation of Award

The winner will be presented a book with certificate attached. The names of award winners will be listed by year on a "trophy board" which will be displayed in a prominent place in the Department of Civil Engineering.

Past Winners

      2015 Winter Manoah Gutknecht
      2014 Fall Martin Schueder
      2014 Winter Fan Yang
      2013 Fall Katrina MacDougall
      2013 Winter  Stefano Arcovio
      2012 Fall  Nikolaus Wootten
      2012 Winter Patrick Richardson
      2011 Fall Greg Shier
      2011 Winter Eric Martin
      2010 Fall Vanessa Mann
      2010 Winter Mark Nelson
      2009 Fall Doug Tomlinson
      2009 Winter Bon Taechakumthorn
      2008 Fall Alison Snow
      2008 Winter Stephen Vardy
      2007 Fall Indra Kalinovich
      2007 Winter Hart Honickman
      2006 Fall Michael Brown
      2006 Fall Christopher Hannon
      2006 Winter Jan Bielenberg
      2005 Fall Michael Melaney
      2005 Winter Grace Yungwirth
      2004 Fall Stephen Vardy
      2004 Winter Tarek El-Tahawy
      2003 Fall John Ford
      2003 Winter Aaron Dent
      2002 Fall Simon Gudina
      2002 Winter Brea Williams
      2001 Fall Jia Shin
      2001 Winter Graeme Skinner
      2000 Fall Brea Williams
      2000 Winter Raafat El-Hacha
      2000 Winter Gordon Thomson
      1999 Fall Natalie Rizkalla
      1999 Fall Darren Waters
      1999 Winter Sarah Rosolen
      1998 Fall Mohammed Dabees
      1998 Winter Kevin Brown
      1997 Fall Luke Bisby
      1997 Winter Julie Konzuk
      1996 Fall Jason Gerhard
      1996 Fall Susan Gibson
      1996 Winter Anne Barker
      1996 Winter Michael Fischer
      1995 Fall Anthony Brown
      1995 Winter Bettina Longino
      1994 Fall Ryan Matthews
      1994 Winter Charles Gravell
      1993 Fall Michael Baumert
      1993 Winter Stephan Trepanier
      1992 Fall Karim Rakha
      1992 Winter Venkatesh Kumar
      1991 Fall Ana Maria da Silva

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000