Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

School of Environmental Studies Student's Choice Professor of the Year Award

Nature of Award

This award is presented by the Environmental Studies Department Student Council and is to recognize a Professor for their Excellence in Teaching.

Nomination Criteria

The main criteria for this award includes outstanding contributions by a professor in the area of teaching, including their enthusiasm for course material, the ability to convey information effectively, and first-rate interactions with students (in and out of class).

Nomination Procedure

At the time of evaluation, all undergraduate students are informed of the award by email and asked to submit their e-votes to the Chair of the Environmental Studies Department Student Council.

Selection Process

The votes and comments from all undergraduate students are reviewed and tabulated by the Student Council members, and the Professor with the highest number of votes/positive comments is awarded.

Presentation of Award

The award recipient is presented with a desk plaque at the School of Environmental Studies Year End Reception by the Department Student Council.  Their name is also engraved on a name plate and attached to a wall plaqe that hangs in the Environmental Studies Lounge for public viewing. 

Past Winners

      2014 - 2015 Steven Moore
      2013 - 2014 Ryan Danby
      2012 - 2013 Graham Whitelaw
      2011 - 2012 Ryan Danby
      2010 - 2011 Steven Moore
      2009 - 2010 Ryan Danby
      2008 - 2009 Graham Whitelaw
      2007 - 2008 Linda Campbell
      2006 - 2007 Gary vanLoon
      2005 - 2006 Dale Kristensen
      2004 - 2005 Alison Blay-Palmer
      2003 - 2004 Dennis Jelinski 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000