Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision

Nature of Award

This annual award is to recognize those outstanding supervisors who demonstrate excellence in advising, monitoring and mentoring graduate students through their training.

Nomination Criteria

Excellence is judged on the quality of supervision and mentorship in facilitating the acquisition of skills and resources needed for the student to succeed as scholars and professionals. Characteristics include availability, timeliness and quality of guidance and feedback, responsiveness to student needs, and enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge. In addition the supervisor must promote timely completion of the thesis and encourage the career development of the student through the provision of leadership and support in academic matters such as publishing, presenting, applying for funding. Preference will be given to faculty members who have displayed sustained mentorship activity over many years.

Nomination Procedure

Faculty members who are actively involved in graduate supervision are eligible to be nominated by a student or students. A nomination form and complete nomination package addressing the selection criteria should be submitted to the Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies. Deadline for receipt of complete packages is April 30.

Selection Process

A selection committee consisting of the Associate Dean or delegate of the School of Graduate Studies, one member from the SGPS executive, two graduate student representatives (one from the Social Sciences and Humanities and one from the Life Sciences, Natural Sciences and Engineering), one graduate coordinator from any department, one member from the Centre for Teaching and Learning who will serve as the Chair (non voting). Two awards are presented annually; one in the Social Sciences and Humanities and one in Life Sciences, Natural Sciences and Engineering.

Presentation of Award

The award winners are announced in September and the awards presented at the appropraite fall convocation ceremony.

Past Winners

      2013 Kerry Rowe, Civil Engineering
      2013 Jean Cote, School of Kinesiology and Health Studies
      2012 Selim Akl, School of Computing
      2012 Mark Walters, Faculty of Law
      2011 Virginia Walker, Biology
      2011 Charles Beach, Economics
      2010 Audrey Kobayashi, Geography/Women's Studies
      2010 Roderick Lindsay, Psychology
      2009 Lynda Jessup, Art
      2009 Kim McAuley, Chemical Engineering
      2008 Julian Barling, Business
      2008 James Cordy, School of Computing
      2007 Karen Dubinsky, History
      2007 Robert Montgomerie, Biology
      2006 Mark Rosenberg, Geography
      2006 John Smol, Biology

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000