Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

PAIRO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award

Nature of Award

The Professional Association of Internes and Residents of Ontario (PAIRO) was created in 1968 by interested housestaff to pursue improvements in matters of training, communication and remuneration for all internes and residents. PAIRO has always taken an interest in housestaff education. In order to highlight this important aspect of training, the PAIRO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award was established in 1983. The goal of the award is to publicly acknowledge the essential role that good clinical teachers play in the training of young physicians.

Nomination Criteria

Housestaff are asked to outline the qualities that make their nominee an excellent teacher including: patient care, quality of bedside teaching, and interest in the trainees' personal development and well-being. The response from the housestaff continues to be enthusiastic and the quality of nominees makes each year's decisions difficult.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for the award come from the interns and residents themselves.

Selection Process

A panel of judges considers the nominations and makes its selection on the basis of information submitted on each candidate. Six winners across the province are selected (two in Toronto and one from each of the cities with medical schools).

Presentation of Award

The winners are honoured at a dinner in Toronto in the Spring and a donation of $1000 is made on their behalf to the charity of their choice.

Past Winners

      2013 - 2014 Robert Webster, Family Medicine
      2012 - 2013 John Rossiter, Biomolecular Sciences
      2011 - 2012 Timothy Chaplin
      2010 - 2011 Diane Lu, Family Medicine
      2009 - 2010 Christopher Smith, Internal Medicine
      2008 - 2009 Vladislav Khokhotva, Medicine
      2007 - 2008 Simon O'Brien, Psychiatry
      2006 - 2007 Brian Arthur, Opthalmology
      2005 - 2006 Michael Brundage, Oncology
      2004 - 2005 Ted Ashbury, Anesthesiology
      2003 - 2004 Donald Soboleski, Diagnostic Radiology
      2002 - 2003 Robert Nolan, Diagnostic Radiology
      2001 - 2002 Mariana Silva, Pediatrics
      2000 - 2001 Ross Morton, Medicine
      1999 - 2000 Ted Toffelmire, Emergency Medicine
      1998 - 1999 Garth Smith, Pediatrics
      1997 - 1998 Mary Ann Jamieson, Obstetrics and Gynaecology
      1996 - 1997 Hoshiar Abdollah, Cardiology
      1995 - 1996 Daniel Brouillard, Medicine
      1994 - 1995 Paul Fenton, Diagnostic Radiology
      1993 - 1994 Sonilal Pancham, Obstetrics and Gynaecology
      1992 - 1993 Ronald Wigle, Medicine
      1991 - 1992 Susan Moffatt, Medicine
      1990 - 1991 Peter Bryson, Obstetrics and Gynaecology
      1989 - 1990 Brian Milne, Anesthesiology

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000