Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

Howard Staveley Teaching Award

Nature of Award

Howard Staveley started working at Queen's University in 1966. He became an adjunct instructor for the department of Computing and Information Science at Queen's University in 1982 and continued teaching until the winter term of 1996. He also held the position of Manager of Information Systems in Computing Services from 1982 until 1996. Howard passed away in 1996 at the age of 52, in the midst of a successful career. He has been sorely missed by his many friends at Queen's. In 1997 an annual award was created in his memory.

Nomination Criteria

Howard consistently earned outstanding evaluations from his classes, and established a standard for teaching excellence. Students loved Howard because he was a great instructor who loved teaching. He was not a teacher by profession -- he took on the role over and above his full-time job with Queen's Computing and Communication Services (now called Information Technology Services). Howard brought to his classes his own enthusiasm, his respect for the students, and his appreciation for the humanity in the science. Nominees should demonstrate the same love and enthusiasm for teaching, care for students, and outstanding feedback from students as Howard did.

Nomination Procedure

Each year the undergraduate students in the Department of Computing and Information Science nominate and choose an instructor to receive the Howard Staveley Teaching Award.

Selection Process

The Howard Staveley Teaching Award is presented during the Undergraduate Reception which is held at the end of every academic year. The recipient's name is engraved on the "Howard Staveley Teaching Award" plaque which is displayed in a glass case located in the foyer on the 5th floor of Goodwin Hall.

Presentation of Award

The award is presented at a student/faculty gathering near the end of the winter term. This is done in conjunction with the  teaching assistant award.

Past Winners

      2014 - 2015 Margaret Lamb
      2013 - 2014 Roger Browse
      2013 - 2014 Brian Butler
      2012 - 2013 Robin Dawes
      2011 - 2012 Mary McCollum
      2010 - 2011 Nicholas Graham
      2009 - 2010 Dave Dove
      2009 - 2010 Honourable Mention: James Cordy
      2009 - 2010 Honourable Mention: Doug Wightman
      2008 - 2009 Gabor Fichtinger
      2007 - 2008 Juergen Dingel
      2006 - 2007 Selim G Akl
      2006 - 2007 Honourable Mention: Margaret Lamb
      2005 - 2006 Hagit Shatkay
      2005 - 2006 Honourable Mention: Selim G Akl
      2004 - 2005 James Stewart
      2003 - 2004 Selim G Akl
      2003 - 2004 Honourable Mention: Parvin Mousavi
      2003 - 2004 Honourable Mention: James Stewart
      2002 - 2003 Michael Levison
      2001 - 2002 Margaret Lamb
      2000 - 2001 Burton Ma
      2000 - 2001 Honourable Mention: Ed Lank
      2000 - 2001 Honourable Mention: Michael Levison
      2000 - 2001 Honourable Mention: Wendy Powley
      1999 - 2000 Dorothea Blostein
      1999 - 2000 Honourable Mention: Robin Dawes
      1999 - 2000 Honourable Mention: Michael Levison
      1999 - 2000 Honourable Mention: Burton Ma
      1998 - 1999 Pat Martin
      1997 - 1998 Robin Dawes

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000