Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Centre for Teaching and Learning

Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision

Nature of Award

This annual award is to recognize those outstanding supervisors who demonstrate excellence in advising, monitoring and mentoring graduate students through their training.

Nomination Criteria

Excellence is judged on the quality of supervision and mentorship in facilitating the acquisition of skills and resources needed for the student to succeed as scholars and professionals. Characteristics include availability, timeliness and quality of guidance and feedback, responsiveness to student needs, and enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge. In addition the supervisor must promote timely completion of the thesis and encourage the career development of the student through the provision of leadership and support in academic matters such as publishing, presenting, applying for funding. Preference will be given to faculty members who have displayed sustained mentorship activity over many years.

Nomination Procedure

Faculty members who are actively involved in graduate supervision are eligible to be nominated by a student or students. A nomination form and complete nomination package addressing the selection criteria should be submitted to the Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies. Deadline for receipt of complete packages is April 30.

Selection Process

A selection committee consisting of the Associate Dean or delegate of the School of Graduate Studies, one member from the SGPS executive, two graduate student representatives (one from the Social Sciences and Humanities and one from the Life Sciences, Natural Sciences and Engineering), one graduate coordinator from any department, one member from the Centre for Teaching and Learning who will serve as the Chair (non voting). Two awards are presented annually; one in the Social Sciences and Humanities and one in Life Sciences, Natural Sciences and Engineering.

Presentation of Award

The award winners are announced in September and the awards presented at the appropriate fall convocation ceremony.

Past Winners

2013 Peter Hodson, Biology and Environmental Studies
2013 Nancy Hutchinson, Faculty of Education
2012 Kerry Rowe, Civil Engineering
2012 Jean Cote, Kinesiology and Health Sciences
2011 Virginia Walker, Biology
2011 Charles Beach, Economics
2010 Audrey Kobayashi, Geography/Women's Studies
2010 Roderick Lindsay, Psychology
2009 Lynda Jessup, Art
2009 Kim McAuley, Chemical Engineering
2008 Julian Barling, Business
2008 James Cordy, School of Computing
2007 Karen Dubinsky, History
2007 Robert Montgomerie, Biology
2006 Mark Rosenberg, Geography
2006 John Smol, Biology

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000