Competition 2015 Information

Registration is now closed for the 2015 competition.

Preliminary rounds for next year's competition will take place on Monday 1 February 2016 and Tuesday 2 February 2016 at 7PM in the JDUC. The final round will be Wednesday 3 February 2016 also at 7PM in the McLaughlin Room, JDUC.

2015 Winners

Akash Pasricha:
Grand Prize $850
Mark Asfar:
1st Runner up $600
Roger Sawh:
2nd Runner up $350
Precia Darshan, Daniel Krutkiewicz, Sia Moshiri:
Honorable Mentions (three prizes) $200

All current Queen's University students are eligible to enter the competition.

To register, send email with 1) your name, 2) your Queen's email address 3) your faculty or department to public.speaking

Structure of the Competition

Each competitor will present their compulsory speech. (See below to find the text for the 2015 Compulsory Speech) Then there will be a brief break. After the break, the order of competitors will be randomly shuffled. In this new sequence, each competitor will present their Original Speech (Each competitor has a choice between a Prepared Speech or and Impromptu Speech. See guidelines below for a description of the format of each type of speech). Six finalists, whose names will be announced at the completion of the preliminaries, will compete in the finals on Wednesday beginning at 7:00 pm.

Please review the Guidelines for Competitors for details.

Guidelines for Competitors

Compulsory Speech Rules

Prepared Speech Rules

Impromptu Speech Rules

Compulsory Speech

The same compulsory speech is used in both the preliminary and final rounds.  Click here to download the text of  the Compulsory  Speech for 2015.

Original Speech

 The original speech categories are: 

Prepared -- An original speech on a topic, chosen, prepared, and delivered by the competitor, which may be informative or persuasive in style. Speech length: Five to seven minutes.

Impromptu -- An original speech on a topic selected blindly by the commpetitor from topics presented by the monitor. Preparations time: Five minutes: Speech length: Three to five minutes.


For clarification of any of the rules and procedures please email

Click here to view the FAQ Sheet


 The Andrina McCulloch Competition welcomes public attendance. Competitors are therefore encouraged to invite family and friends to hear them speak.


The Andrina McCulloch Public Speaking Competition is co-sponsored by the Drama Department and the Student Life Centre. 

Prizes funded by a bequest from the estate of Andrew McCulloch, B.A. 1871, M.A. 1874

The organizers would like to thank all participants, students, and judges for their continuing support of the competition and for advancing public speaking at Queen's University.


The John Deutsch University Centre (JDUC) is an accessible building:

  • A ramp is located along University Avenue (across from Stauffer Library) into the Breezeway.
  • Go through the doors on the right into the Lower Ceilidh.
  • Proceed diagonally across the Lower Ceilidh and through the doors next to the Walkhome Kiosk.
  • An evelator is to the left, across from the SGPS office. Barrier-free washroom facilities are available on all floors

Past Winners

74th (January 2015): Akash Pasricha, Mark Asfar, Roger Sawh, Precia Darshan, Daniel Krutkiewicz, Sia Moshiri.

73rd (February 2014): Akash Pasricha, Samuel Battista, Kathleen Browne, Megan Campbell, Michael Hynes, Deng Pan.

72nd (February 2013): Amanie Antar, Saba Farbodkia, Mark Asfar, Kathleen Browne, Jordyn Benattar, Trevor Philips, Irina Rakhimova

71st (February 2012): Peter Norman, Jordyn Benattar, Julie Harmgardt, Michael Hynes, Raissa Killoran, Adam DiSimine, Rachelle McGrath

70th (February 2011):  Alyssa Lewis, Laurel Dault, Raissa Killoran, Samantha Coomara, Julia Segal, Uliana Haras, Adam DiSimine

69th (November 2009): Michelle Goodman, Sarah-Taissir Bencharif, Adam Hetherington, Joyce Mak, Laura Lu 

68th (November 2008):  Brandin O’Connor, Miguel Colebrook, Lars Kramer, Samantha Heather, Jamie Lincoln, Robert Nartowski, Dorion Positano.

67th (November 2007): Dorion Positano, 

66th (November 2006): Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Michael Kalimin, Brian Kuchar, Alex Dault, C.J. Reader, Madeleine Bart, Gurleen Singh.

65th (February 2005): Ahmed Kayssi, Michael Kalimin, Keith Bennie, Madeleine Bart, Aimee Roy, Marchael Holtz, Kayla Ramlochand, Rachel Manno

64th (February 2004): Keith Bennie, Deborah Pearson, Menaka Mallikage, Erin Weir, Michael Kalimin, Niall Filewod, Maria Craig-Broadwith

63rd (2003): Menaka Mallikage, Kathleen James, Cayleight Warrack, Marchael Holtz, Patrick Gill, George Ibrahim, Aron Seal

62nd (2002): Jessica Liadsky, Aron Seal, Niall Filewod, Joel Ralph, Paromita Kar, Graham Kosakoski, Aly-Khan Lalani

61st (2001): Cristin Peel, Nicholas Hanson, Graham Kosakoski, Natasha Jategaonkar, Charlotte Wilkinson, Waikwa Wanyoike, Leslie Bunbury

60th (2000):Sumit Gupta, Charlotte Wilkinson, Karen Lehtovaara, Geoffrey Tabachnick, Sharon Leighton, Aly Verjee, Awelana Nabina

59th (1999): Heather Maitland, Sumit Gupta, Sharon Leighton, Arlene Pearce, Suparna Roy, Barnali Choudhury, Awelana Nabina

58th (1998): Sophia Yeh, Michael Podgorski, Lianne Hodgson, Isabelle Skaburskis, David Ritchie, Laura Thackeray, Margaret Flynn

57th (1997): Stephanie Sauve, Laura Thackeray, Sophia Yeh, Christine Dafoe, Arlene Pearce, Mark Kleniewski, Eun-Hye Chung