School of Environmental Studies

SCHOOL OF

Environmental Studies

SCHOOL OF

Environmental Studies

site header

Faculty and Staff

Below is a list of full time faculty members within the Department of Environmental Studies. Click on their names to view more information about each person including their area(s) of research. For students who are interested in seeking a supervisor, please directly contact each faculty member using the provided contact information. 

Name Field of Study Cognate Department Email

Brown, Stephen

Environmental Chemistry Chemistry browns@chem.queensu.ca

Danby, Ryan

Ecosystem Change and Biodiversity Conservation Geography ryan.danby@queensu.ca

Goebel, Allison

(Undergraduate Chair)

Environmental Justice; Women Health & Environment; Local Food Issues/Movements; Gender, Environment & Development in Africa   goebela@queensu.ca

Hird, Myra

Interdisciplinary Environmental Research; Waste Flow; Knowledge Mobilization   hirdm@queensu.ca

Hodson, Peter

(Emeritus)

Fish Toxicology Biology peter.hodson@queensu.ca

Hovorka, Alice

(Director)

Animal Geographies, Gender and Environment, Urban Geography, Southern Africa Geography alice.hovorka@queensu.ca

Jamieson, Heather

Environmental Geochemistry Geological Sciences & Geological Engineering jamieson@queensu.ca

Liss, Steven

(Emeritus)

Environmental Biotechnology, Microbial Processes and Structures, Water and Wastewater Resource Management and Fate of Emerging Contaminants

Chemical Engineering steven.liss@queensu.ca

Orihel, Diane

Freshwater Ecosystems Biology diane.orihel@queensu.ca

Smith, Mick

Environmental Philosophy Philosophy michael.smith@queensu.ca

Whitelaw, Graham

(Graduate Chair)

Environmental Assessment and Land Use Planning School of Urban & Regional Planning SURP graham.whitelaw@queensu.ca

Winn, Louise

Fetal Toxicity Biomedical & Molecular Sciences winnl@queensu.ca

Below is a list of cross-appointed faculty members within the Department of Environmental Studies. Click on their names to view more information about each person including their area(s) of research. For students who are interested in seeking a supervisor, note that only those marked with * will supervise or advise ENSC Graduate students at this time.  Please contact each faculty member using the provided contact information.

Name Department Email Phone *

Aronson, Kristan J. 

Public Health Services aronson@queensu.ca 613.533.6000 ext. 74953 or 78522  *

Castleden, Heather

Geography & Planning Heather.Castleden@queensu.ca 613.533.6000 ext. 77216  

Chen, Dongmei

Geography & Planning chendm@queensu.ca 613.533.6045 *

Cumming, Brian

Biology cummingb@queensu.ca 613-533-6153 *

Lougheed, Stephen

Biology steve.lougheed@queensu.ca 613.533.6128  

Mabee, Warren

Geography & Planning warren.mabee@queensu.ca 613.533.6000 ext. 77092 *

Massey, Thomas E. 

Biomedical & Molecular Sciences masseyt@queensu.ca 613.533.6115  

McDonald, David A.

Global Development Studies dm23@queensu.ca 613.533.6962 *

Smol, John P.  

Biology smolj@queensu.ca 613.533.6147; Lab: 613.533.6193  

Taylor, Marcus

Global Development Studies marcus.taylor@queensu.ca 613 533-6000 ext. 77655 *

Upitis, Rena

Faculty of Education upitisr@queensu.ca 613 533-6000 ext. 36212  

Viswanathan, Leela

Geography & Planning leela.viswanathan@queensu.ca 613.533.6000 ext. 75308 *

Vlachopoulos, Nicholas

RMC, Civil Engineering vlachopoulos-n@rmc.ca 613-541-6000 x6398 *

Walker, Virginia

Biology walkervk@queensu.ca 613.533.6123 *

Wallace, Molly

English wallacem@queensu.ca 613.533.6000 ext. 74421  

Wang, Yuxiang

Biology yuxiangw@queensu.ca 613.533.6134 *

Webster, Jane

School of Business jwebster@queensu.ca 613.533.3163 *

Zeeb, Barbara

RMC, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering zeeb-b@rmc.ca 613-541-6000 x6713 *

Zeman, Frank

RMC, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering frank.zeman@rmc.ca 613.541.6000 ext. 7147

*

Below is a list of adjunct faculty members within the Department of Environmental Studies. Click on their names to view more information about each person including their area(s) of research. For students who are interested in seeking a supervisor or advisor in the ENSC Graduate program, please note that only faculty marked with * will accept graduate students.

Please contact them directly using the provided contact information. Faculty members not marked with * are not willing to act as primary supervisor and do not wish to be contacted.

Name Email Details Phone *

Andrew, John

john.andrew@queensu.ca Queen's University, Department of Geography & Planning 613-533-2958  

Bramburger, Andy

abrambur@d.umn.edu Center for Water & the Environment, University of Minnesota Duluth 218-720-2726  

Clark, Douglas

d.clark@usask.ca School of Environment & Sustainability, University of Saskatchewan 306-966-5405  

deSolla, Shane

Shane.DeSolla@ec.gc.ca Environment Canada    

Hall, Geof

gh26@queensu.ca Queen's University, Department of Civil Engineering 613-533-3412  

Hickey, Brian

bhickey@riverinstitute.ca St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences SLRIES    

Kirk, Jane

jane.kirk@canada.ca Environment Canada 905-336-4712  

Langlois, Valerie

valerie.langlois@ete.inrs.ca

Institut national de la recherche scientifique INRS - Centre Eau Terre Environnement, Quebec City

   

Madison, Barry

barry.madison@queensu.ca Queen's University, Department of Biology    

Majury, Anna

anna.majury@oahpp.ca Public Health Ontario Labs - Eastern Ontario and Queen's University 613-548-6630 x129 *

McCarthy, Dan

dmccarthy@uwaterloo.ca Dept of Environment & Resource Studies, University of Waterloo 519-888-4567 x33065 *

Moore, Steven

smoore@business.queensu.ca Queen's University, Smith School of Business 613-533-6000 x78162  

Poland, John

poland@queensu.ca School of Environmental Studies Analytical Services Unit ASU, Emeritus Professor 613-533-6000 x77866  

Ridal, Jeffrey

jridal@riverinstitute.ca St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences SLRIES    

Rutter, Allison

ruttera@queensu.ca School of Environmental Studies Analytical Services Unit ASU 613-533-2642 *

St. George, Scott

stgeorge@umn.edu University of Minnesota    

Stewart, Kathryn

stewart.a.kat@gmail.com  Tongji University (College of Environmental Science and Engineering) +86-156-1897-9049  

van Loon, Gary 

vanloon@chem.queensu.ca Chemistry, Emeritus Professor 613-533-2633 *

Varty, John

tractoracrosscanada@gmail.com History, Agrarian Studies    

Welbourn, Pamela

rpwelbourn@cogeco.ca Emeritus Professor    
Title Name Contact
Administrative/Undergraduate Assistant

Depew, Karen

Biosciences Complex, Room 3134
Phone: 613-533-6000 Ext. 74298
Email: karen.depew@queensu.ca
Financial/Graduate Assistant

Bass, Paul

Biosciences Complex, Room 3132
Phone:  613-533-6000 Ext. 77531 
Email:pdb@queensu.ca