Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre

Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre
Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre
Subscribe to News feed
Updated: 2 hours 26 min ago

Queen’s Reads takes on The Break

Mon, 07/31/2017 - 09:12
Katherena Vermette's award-winning novel explores themes of diversity, identity and resiliency.

Gift creates award for Indigenous law students

Wed, 07/26/2017 - 16:14
Gift of $50,000 helps create the David Sharpe Indigenous Law Student Award for upper-year studies.

Queen’s student joins Canada 150 sea expedition

Fri, 07/21/2017 - 09:19
Thomas Dymond casts off on a journey through the Northwest Passage to celebrate diversity and reconciliation.

Making it easier to self-identify

Fri, 07/07/2017 - 09:34
New SOLUS mechanism allows students with Aboriginal ancestry to self-identify to the university any time.

Connecting with Grandmother moon

Thu, 07/06/2017 - 14:22
Hosted by the Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre, the Women's Full Moon ceremonies provide participants a circle of support, unburdening, and gratitude.

Indigenous perspectives: National Aboriginal Day, Canada 150

Wed, 06/21/2017 - 13:21
Community members offer their Aboriginal Day plans and thoughts on Canada 150.

Two 2017 Queen’s National Scholars announced

Tue, 06/20/2017 - 13:00
Queen’s University welcomes Isabelle St-Amand and Michael Doxtater.

Quid novi: what's new on campus May 2017

Wed, 05/24/2017 - 16:36
Teaser: 

Queen's TRC final report; the racism and diversity report; rare books, and the "New Eyes on the Universe" exhibit.

Renewable energy and reconciliation

Wed, 05/17/2017 - 10:08
Queen’s researcher receives CIHR grant for interdisciplinary research program on Indigenous leadership in renewable energy development.

Law Library acquires Aboriginal texts

Fri, 05/05/2017 - 15:12
Anonymous donation enables Lederman Law Library to expand collection on Aboriginal law and aspects of law published by Aboriginal authors and publishing houses.

Getting reconciliation right

Thu, 05/04/2017 - 15:28
Report from national forum on Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples outlines ways people can make a difference in the reconciliation process.  

Indspire Award winner embraces personal journey

Wed, 04/19/2017 - 14:12
Medical student Thomas Dymond, recipient of a prestigious Indigenous award, has discovered and embraced his Aboriginal identity. 

Law student encourages deeper understanding of treaty histories

Thu, 03/23/2017 - 14:37
Jason Mercredi offered his expertise and personal experience to Queen’s TRC Task Force. 

TRC report brings communities together to change course

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 11:20
University commits to building good relations and effecting meaningful institutional change.

Raising Indigenous awareness

Fri, 03/10/2017 - 16:02
Queen’s Native Student Association hosts series of events to mark Indigenous Awareness Week March 10-18. 

Charting a path toward reconciliation

Sun, 11/13/2016 - 06:43
National forum explores the legacy and impact of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP), which issued its final report 20 years ago. 

A pathfinder, knowledge-carrier, and guide for life

Fri, 10/21/2016 - 10:14
Four Directions Elder in Residence Mary Ann Spencer works with all students to help them stay on a good path, in academics and beyond.

Campus life 'allowed me to claim my history'

Thu, 08/18/2016 - 09:46
Alumna Carol Ann Budd’s undergraduate years prepared her for career success – and helped her connect with her Aboriginal culture. 

From heartbreak to graduation

Wed, 06/08/2016 - 14:48
With some timely support Melanie Gray (Artsci'16) overcame the loss of her mother to graduate from Queen's University.

An exercise in Aboriginal history

Thu, 05/12/2016 - 15:03
Members of the Aboriginal Council of Queen’s University participate in a Kairos blanket exercise during May 9 meeting.

Pages

Sign up for our E-Newsletter

Visit our Tipi