Department of Geography and Planning

Department of Geography and Planning
Department of Geography and Planning

Geography Graduate Students


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Photo of Jonathan Aarssen
Jonathan Aarssen
M.A. Candidate
Email: 5jaa@queensu.ca

Photo of Prince Amegbor
Prince Michael Amegbor
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 11pma4@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: complementary and alternative medicine; ageing, sub-Sahara African Canadians and translocational positionality
Supervisor: Dr. Mark Rosenberg
Connect with Prince Amegbor on LinkedIn

Photo of Peter Anderson
Peter G. Anderson
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: peter.anderson@queensu.ca

Photo of Priscilla Apronti
Priscilla Toloo Apronti
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 15pta@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: renewable energy; community participatory research; mining; environmental justice; corporate accountability
Supervisor: Dr. Heather Castleden
Connect with Priscilla Apronti on LinkedIn



Photo of Sue Bazely
Susan Bazely
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: s.bazely@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: cultural landscapes; heritage practice; geographical representation
Supervisor: Dr. Brian S. Osborne and Dr. Joan M. Schwartz
Curriculum Vitae (pdf, 368kB)

Sunset on the water
Casey Beel
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 15cb29@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: Arctic; landscape evolution; hillslope-to-channel connectivity; suspend sediment transfer
Supervisor: Dr. Scott Lamoureux and Dr. John Orwin
Researchgate: http://www.researchgate.net/profile/Casey_Beel
Connect with Casey Beel on LinkedIn

Photo of Jean Blair
Jean Blair
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: m.blair@queensu.ca

Photo of Sunset over mountains and onto lake
Alex Boone
M.A. Candidate
Email: 8arjb@queensu.ca

Photo of Max Boreux
Max Boreux
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: m.boreux@queensu.ca

Photo of Joseph Braimah
Joseph Asumah Braimah
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 17jab3@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: aging; health; migration; environment; population
Supervisor: Dr. Mark Rosenberg

Photo of Jeff Carey
Jeffrey Carey
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: carey.j@queensu.ca

Photo of Jordan Carlson
Jordan Carlson
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: j.carlson@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: renewable energy; energy transitions; tidal energy; energy systems
Supervisor: Dr. Warren Mabee

Photo of Michael Carter
Michael Carter
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: michael.carter@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: smart cities; smart cards; innovation; Toronto
Supervisor: Dr. David Murakami Wood and Dr. Beverley Mullings
Connect with Michael Carter on LinkedIn

Photo of Andrea Choi
Andrea Choi
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: andrea.choi@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: racism in education; whiteness in geography; critical race theory
Supervisor: Dr. Audrey Kobayashi

Photo of Carolyn DeLoyde
Carolyn DeLoyde
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: carolyn.deloyde@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: planning; policy; nature; urban
Supervisor: Dr. Warren Mabee

Photo of Xiaojun Deng
Xiaojun Deng
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 16xd@queensu.ca

Photo of Sinead Earley
Sinead K. Earley
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: sinead.earley@queensu.ca

Sunset on the water
Yao Feng
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 15yf12@queensu.ca

Photo of Kasmine Forbes
Kasmine Forbes
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 15kdf1@queensu.ca

Photo of Melissa Forcione
Melissa Forcione
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: melissa.forcione@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: decolonizing education; settler colonialism; Indigenous-settler relations; resource towns
Supervisor: Dr. Anne Godlewska
Connect with Melissa Forcione on LinkedIn

Photo of Valerie Freemantle
Valerie Freemantle
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: valerie.freemantle@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: remote sensing; high arctic; climate change; vegetation
Supervisor: Dr. Paul Treitz
Connect with Valerie Freemantle on LinkedIn

Photo of Matt Gillman
Matt Gillman
M.Sc.Candidate
Email: m.gillman@queensu.ca

Photo of Nicole Goodbrand
Nicole Goodbrand
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: nicole.goodbrand@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: Indigenous; planning, First Nations; equity; reconciliation
Supervisor: Dr. Leela Viswanathan
Connect with Nicole Goodbrand on LinkedIn

Photo of Christine Grossutti
Christine Grossutti
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 11cg22@queensu.ca

Photo of John Haffner
John Haffner
M.Sc.Candidate
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: j.haffner@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: urban geography; Indigenous-municipal planning; political economy; transportation infrastructure
Supervisor: Dr. Leela Viswanathan
Connect with John Haffner on LinkedIn

Photo of Gentry Hanks
Gentry Hanks
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 11gh11@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: emotional geographies; diabetes; cyborgs; waste flows; online qualitative methods
Supervisor: Dr. Joan Schwartz and Dr. Joyce Davidson
Personal website

Photo of Kanina Holmes
Kanina Holmes
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: kanina.holmes@queensu.ca


Photo of Jacqueline Hung
Jacqueline Hung
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: jacqueline.hung@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: soil nutrients; carbon exchange; remote sensing
Supervisor: Dr. Neal Scott and Dr. Paul Treitz
Connect with Jacqueline Hung on LinkedIn

Photo of Sirikul Hutasavi
Sirikul Hutasavi
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 16sh48@queensu.ca
Connect with Sirikul Hutasavi on LinkedIn

Photo of Lorraine Hutton
Lorraine Hutton
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: l.hutton@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: feminist theory; geography of health-disability and caregiving; visual methodology
Supervisor: Dr. Mark Rosenberg

Sunset on the water
Hannah Johnston
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Photo of Hilal Kara
Hilal Kara
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: hilal.kara@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: gender and human mobility; geography of displacement and resettlement; feminist urban geographies
Supervisor: Dr. Beverley Mullings
Personal/Research Website: https://queensu.academia.edu/HilalKara

Photo of Oscar Kuffour

Sunset on the water
Christopher Lamb
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Sunset on the water
Nemoy Lewis
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Photo of Yuan Li
Yuan Li
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 17yl24@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: urban development; health geography; aging-friendly city; mixed methods research designs
Supervisor: Dr. Mark Rosenberg

Photo of Paulina Marczak
Paulina Marczak
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 16pm9@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: carbon sequestration; predictive modelling; mixedwood forest; remote sensing
Supervisor: Dr. Neal Scott and Dr. Paul Treitz
Connect with Paulina Marczak on LinkedIn


Photo of Sandra McCubbin
Sandra McCubbin
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: sandra.mccubbin@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: human-environment geography; political ecology; animal geographies; conservation; lions
Supervisor: Dr. Alice Hovorka

Photo of Sarah McFadden
Sarah McFadden
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: s.mcfadden@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: permafrost; climate change; hydrology; geomorphology; consolidation
Supervisor: Dr. Scott Lamoureux
Connect with Sarah McFadden on LinkedIn

Photo of Peter Milley
Peter Milley
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: peter.milley@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: forest bioeconomy; biorefining; forest industries; sustainability
Supervisor: Dr. Warren Mabee
Connect with Peter Milley on LinkedIn

Photo of Nanor Momejian
Nanor Momejian
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: nanor.momejian@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: permafrost degradation; numerical modelling; biogeochemistry; hydrology
Supervisor: Dr. Melissa Lafrenière
Connect with Nanor Momejian on LinkedIn

Photo of Elizabeth Nelson
Elizabeth Nelson
M.A. Candidate
Email: elizabeth.nelson@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: reconciliation; spaces of public remembering; identity politics; public spaces; decolonization
Supervisor: Dr. Anne Godlewska
Connect with Elizabeth Nelson on LinkedIn

Photo of Mitchell Patterson
Mitchell Patterson
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Photo of Sean Patterson
Sean Patterson
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: sean.patterson@queensu.ca

Photo of Alexandra Pedersen
Alexandra Pedersen
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: a.pedersen@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: violence; development; Guatemala; resource extraction
Supervisor: Dr. W. George Lovell and Dr. Catherine Nolin (UBC)

Photo of Tesfa Peterson
Tesfa Peterson
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 15tap1@queensu.ca

Sunset on the water
Kyle Plumb
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 4kbp@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: geographical gerontology; person-centred dementia care; non-representational theory; qualitative research design
Supervisor: Dr. Mark Rosenberg

Photo of Michael Pope
Michael Pope
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 16mp25@queensu.ca

Photo of Chris Radford
Chis Radford
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 11cr31@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: image stitching; image processing; remote sensing; parralax; computer vision
Supervisor: Dr. Dongmei Chen
Connect with Christopher Radford on LinkedIn

Photo of Carola Ramos
Carola Ramos
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: carola.ramos@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: Extractive industries; South America; Indigenous Peoples; Amazon
Supervisor: Dr. W. George Lovell

Picture of Nicole Raymer
Nicole Raymner
M.A. Candidate
Email: 11njr4@queensu.ca

Photo of Nasya Razavi
Nasya Razavi
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: nasya.razavi@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: water and sanitation; Latin American studies; international development; political economy
Supervisor: Dr. David McDonald

Photo of John Rose
John Rose
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Photo of Ronald Roy
Ronald J. Roy
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: ronald.roy@queensu.ca

Photo of Bridget Rusk
Bridget Rusk
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: bridget.rusk@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: geomorphology; permafrost disturbance; Arctic change; thermokarst; Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Supervisor: Dr. Scott Lamoureux
Connect with Bridget Rusk on LinkedIn

Photo of Morgan Sage
Morgan Sage
M.A. Candidate
Email: 17mms5@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: food security; food waster; sustainable food systems
Supervisor: Dr. Betsy Donald
Connect with Morgan Sage on LinkedIn

Photo of Nathalia Santos Ocasio
Nathalia Santos Ocasio
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 16nso@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: arpilleras; Chile; neoliberalisation; solidarity; economic violence
Supervisor: Dr. Beverley Mullings

Photo of Laura Schaefli
Laura Schaefli
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: laura.schaefli@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: decolonizing education; research co-design; First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples; Ontario
Supervisor: Dr. Anne Godlewska

Photo of Chen Shang
Chen Shang
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: chen.shang@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: remote sensing; LiDAR; forest; statistical and machine learning
Supervisor: Dr. Paul Treitz

Photo of Laurence Simard Gagnon
Laurence Simard Gagnon
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:12gls@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: feminist geographies; mothering; linguistic minorities; daily practices; intersectionality
Supervisor: Dr. Anne Godlewska

Photo of Seraphina Skands
Seraphina Skands
M.A. Candidate
Email: 17sss12@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: cultural geography; critical urban geography; heritage preservation; Vancouver's downtown eastside
Supervisor: Dr. Audrey Kobayashi and Dr. Jeffery Masuda

Sunset on the water
Ricardo Smalling
Ph.D. Candidate
Email:

Photo of Mingjie Song
Mingjie Song
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: mingjie.song@queensu.ca

Photo of Emily Su
Emily Su
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 17ebs1@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: hydrology; land use change; watershed management; ecosystem services
Supervisor: Dr. Neal Scott
Connect with Emily Su on LinkedIn

Sunset on the water
Paul Sylvestre
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: paul.sylvestre@queensu.ca
Research Profile


Photo of Gillian Thiel
​Gillian Thiel
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: gillian.thiel@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: High Arctic; permafrost; biogeochemistry; dissolved organic matter
Supervisor: Dr. Melissa Lafrenière
Connect with Gillian Thiel on LinkedIn

Photo of Lauren Van Patter
Lauren Van Patter
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: lauren.vanpatter@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: animal geographies; urban wildlife; coyote; black bear; multispecies ethnography
Supervisor: Dr. Alice Hovorka

Photo of Emma Webb
Emma Webb
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 11ew16@queensu.ca

Sunset on the water
Robin Westland
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 9rw5@queensu.ca

Photo of Katie Woodstock
Katie Woodstock
M.Sc. Candidate
Email: 11kpw1@queensu.ca
Research Key Words: geographic information science; Lyme disease; spatial modelling; medical geography
Supervisor: Dr. Dongmei Chen
Connect with Katherine Woodstock on LinkedIn

Sunset on the water
Mengqi Yang
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: 12my21@queensu.ca

Photo of Hong Yao
Hong Yao
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: h.yao@queensu.ca
Personal Profile(pdf, 204 kB), Researchgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Hong_Yao12