Geological Science and Engineering

Queen's University
Search Type
Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering
Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering

Current Faculty


To see a complete profile for one of our faculty members, click on the faculty name

Name Telephone Email Research Area Status
Douglas Archibald

613-533-6768

archiba@queensu.ca
  • Geophysics/Geochronology
Continuing Adjunct
Alexander Braun

613-533-6621

braun@queensu.ca
  • Geophysics
Associate Professor
Mark Diederichs 

613-533-6504

diederim@queensu.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique
Professor
Georgia Fotopoulos

613-533-6639

georgia.fotopoulos@queensu.ca
  • Geodesy/Geomatics
Associate Professor

Laurent Godin

613-533-3223

godinl@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology
Professor
John Hanes

613-533-6188

hanes@queensu.ca
  • Geophysics/Geochronology
Associate Professor
Rob Harrap

613-533-2553

harrap@queensu.ca
  • Structural Geology
  • Geotechnique/Geomatics
Continuing Adjunct
Jean Hutchinson

613-533-3388

hutchinj@queensu.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique
Professor
Noel James

613-533-6170

jamesn@queensu.ca
  • Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology
Professor
Heather Jamieson 

613-533-6181

jamieson@queensu.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique
Professor
Kurt Kyser

613-533-6179

kyserk@queensu.ca
  • Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
  • Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology
  • Geophysics/Geochronology
Professor
Daniel Layton-Matthews

613-533-6338

dlayton@queensu.ca
  • Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
  • Petrology/Geochemistry
Associate Professor
Guy Narbonne

613-533-6168

narbonne@queensu.ca
  • Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology
Professor
Gema Olivo 

613-533-6998

olivo@queensu.ca
  • Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
Professor
Ron Peterson

613-533-6180

peterson@queensu.ca
  • Mineralogy
Professor
Vicki Remenda

613-533-6594

remendav@queensu.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique

Professor

Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Arts and Science

Faculty - Active Emeritus

Name Telephone Email Research Area
Alan Clark

613-533-6187

N/A
  • Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
Robert Dalrymple 

613-533-6186

dalrympl@queensu.ca
  • Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology
John Dixon 

613-533-6172

john.dixon@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology
Herb Helmstaedt

613-533-6175

helmstae@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology

Raymond Price

613-533-6542

pricera@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology

Faculty - Cross Appointed

Name Department Telephone Email Research Area
Nicholas Vlachopoulos 

Civil Engineering
Royal Military College

613-541-6000 ext 6398

vlachopoulos-n@rmc.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique
George Bevan

Classics
Queen's University

613-533-6000
ext 78847

bevan@queensu.ca  

Faculty - Adjunct

Name Research Area Company/Agency Affiliation
Antonio Abellan
  • Engineering Geology / Natural Hazards / Remote sensing techniques / Modelling
Scott Polar Research Institute / Department of Geography, University of Cambridge Hutchinson
Yvonne Bone     James
Alfredo Camacho
  • Tectonics and geochronology
Department of Geological Sciences, University of Manitoba Godin
Claire Chamberlain
  • Economic Geology (Field Mapping, Geochemistry, Geochronology)
Teck Resources Ltd Olivo
Chiara Frassi
  • Structural Geology/Tectonics

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Pisa

Godin
Danielle Fortin     Jamieson
James Franklin
  • Economic Geology

Franklin Geosciences Ltd.

Layton-Matthews
Dave Gauthier     Hutchinson/Diederichs
James Gehling
  • Palaeontology/Palaeoecology
  • Stratigraphy, Taphonomy and Sedimentology
South Australian Museum Narbonne
Eric Hiatt
  • Sedimentology

University of Wisconsin

Kyser/James
Phillippa Huntsman-Mapila     Jamieson
Dawn Kellett
  • Geochronology, Thermochronology, Tectonics

Geological Survey of Canada, NRCan

Godin
Matt Lato
  • Applied remote sensing
  • Geohazard risk assessment

BGC Engineering Inc.

Diederichs/Hutchinson
Matt Leybourne     Layton-Matthews
William Martindale     James
Beth McClenaghan
  • Geochemistry

Geological Survey of Canada

Layton-Matthews
James Miller
  • Igneous Petrology
  • Metallogeny
  • Field Geology

University of Minnesota Duluth

Olivo
Michael Parsons
  • Environmental Geochemistry
Natural Resources Canada, Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) Jamieson
Matt Perras     Diederichs/Hutchinson
Jan Peter
  • Economic Geology
  • Geochemistry
Geological Survey of Canada Layton-Matthews
Peir Pufahl     James
Daniel Schulze
  • Petrology
Department of Earth Sciences, University of Toronto Peterson
Leigh Smith     Department
Marc St.Onge
  • Metamorphic Petrology, Tectonics
Geological Survey of Canada (Natural Resources Canada) Layton-Matthews