Department of History

Department of History
Department of History

Faculty

Regular Faculty and Continuing Adjuncts


Howard Adelman

Associate Professor and Director, Program in Jewish Studies
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 79139
Email: adelman@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 236
Research Interests: Jewish History


Donald Akenson

Douglas Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74378
Email: 8da8@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 301
Research Interests: Irish Studies


Richard G. Bailey

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74379
Email: baileyr@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 302
Research Interests: Medieval mystical and utopian movements; seventeenth century intellectual


Jeffrey Brison

Adjunct Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 78991
Email: jeffrey.brison@queensu.ca
Research Interests: North American Cultural and Intellectual, Canadian-American Relations, Cultural Studies, Cultural Policy


Caroline-Isabelle Caron

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext: 74366
Email: caronc@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 228
Research Interests: Quebec and Acadian cultural, commemoration, intellectual, popular culture, fan studies


James Carson

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74208
Email: jc35@queensu.ca
Research Interests: Native American ethnohistory and the Antebellum United States


Amitava Chowdhury

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74368
Email: a.chowdhury@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 231
Research Interests: Caribbean and World History, Indian Ocean, South Asian Diaspora


Jeffrey Collins

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74357
Email: collinsj@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 205
Research Interests: Early Modern Britain, History of Political Thought


Rosanne Currarino

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74353
Email: rc16@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 201
Research Interests: 19th-century US


Anthony F. D'Elia

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74375
Email: deliaa@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 238
Research Interests: Italian Renaissance


Sandra den Otter

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74369
Email: denotter@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 232
Research Interests: Intellectual, cultural, and imperial history of Britain


Karen Dubinsky

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74374
Email: dubinsky@queensu.ca
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room A401
Research Interests: Global childhood, Transnational Canada/Global South relations, North American gender/sexuality, Cuban musical culture


Gordon B. Dueck

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74473
Email: dueckg@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 108
Research Interests: Modern Jewish history


Allan English

Adjunct Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 78811
Email: kmg1@sympatico.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 129
Research Interests: Canadian Military History


Marc Epprecht

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 78248
Email: epprecht@queensu.ca
Office: MacIntosh-Corry, B414
Research Interests:  Africa, gender and development, sexuality, international development


E. Jane Errington

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74356
Email: errington-j@rmc.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 204
Research Interests: Social and intellectual history of Upper Canada


Richard Greenfield

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 77507
Email: greenfie@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 237
Research Interests: Middle and Late Byzantine history


Jenna Healey

Assistant Professor and Jason A. Hannah Chair
Phone:
Email: jenna.healey@queensu.ca
Office:
Research Interests: Medicine

Martina Hardwick

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74380
Email: hardwick@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 303
Research Interests: Canadian history


Emily Hill

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74376
Email: emily.hill@queensu
Office: Watson Hall, Room 239
Research Interests: Modern China


Adnan Husain

Associate Professor and Queen's National Scholar
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74367
Email: ah28@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 229
Research Interests: Medieval Mediterranean and Islamic World


Andrew Jainchill

Associate Professor and Graduate Chair
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 78998
Email: andrew.jainchill@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 234
Research Interests: Early Modern Europe


Harold Mah

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74382
Email: hem@queensu.ca
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E319
Research Interests: Cultural and intellectual history of modern Europe


Rebecca Manley

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-2232 ext. 32232
Email: manleyr@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 214
Research Interests: Russian and Soviet History; Modern Europe


Steven Maynard

Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 78778
Email: maynards@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 127
Research Interests: Canadian social history


Jeffrey McNairn

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74363
Email: mcnairnj@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 225
Research Interests: Canada specializing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries


Ishita Pande

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74373
Email: pande@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 223
Research Interests: South Asia


David Parker

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74358
Email: parkerd@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 206
Research Interests: Social, cultural and legal history of Latin America


Ariel Salzmann

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74350
Email: as45@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 101
Research Interests: Middle Eastern and Mediterranean


Ana Siljak

Adjunct Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74355
Email: siljaka@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 203
Research Interests: Russian and East European History


Timothy B. Smith

Professor and Undergraduate Chair
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74354
Email: tbs@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 202
Research Interests: Modern European history, comparative public policy, globalization


Leonid Trofimov

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: 613-533-2150
Email: trofimovl@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 237
Research Interests: Russian history, Soviet-American relations


Nancy van Deusen

Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74365
Email: nancy.vandeusen@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 227
Research Interests: Colonial Latin America, Iberian Atlantic World


Barrington Walker

Associate Professor
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74364
Email: walkerb@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 226
Research Interests: Modern Canada, African Canadian, Race, Immigration and Law


Awet Weldemichael

Associate Professor and Queen's National Scholar
Phone: 613-533-6000 ext. 74370
Email: awet.weldemichael@queensu.ca
Office: Watson Hall, Room 233
Research Interests: African and World History


Daniel Woolf

Professor, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Queen's University
Phone: 613-533-2201 ext. 32201
Email: principal@queensu.ca
Office: Richardson Hall, Room 351
Research Interests: Early modern British intellectual and cultural history, and the global history of historical writing