Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

site header

Observed Holidays

Holiday 2015 2016 2017
New Year's Day * Thursday, January 1 Friday, January 1 Sunday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 16 Monday, February 15 Monday, February 20
Good Friday Friday, April 3 Friday, March 25 Friday, April 14
Victoria Day Monday, May 18 Monday, May 23 Monday, May 22
Canada Day Wednesday, July 1 Friday, July 1 Monday, July 3
Civic Holiday Monday, August 3 Monday, August 1 Monday, August 7
Labour Day Monday, September 7 Monday, September 5 Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving Monday, October 12 Monday, October 10 Monday, October 9
Christmas Day * Friday, December 25 Sunday, December 25 Monday, December 25
Boxing Day * Saturday, December 26 Monday, December 26 Tuesday, December 26

* See Christmas Closing for the University closure days between Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Policy

The University recognizes the following 10 days as observed holidays without loss of salary:

  1. New Year's Day
  2. Family Day
  3. Good Friday
  4. Victoria Day
  5. Canada Day
  6. Civic Holiday
  7. Labour Day
  8. Thanksgiving Day
  9. Christmas Day
  10. Boxing Day

Remembrance Day is not considered an Observed Holiday, however those employees who wish to attend services at Queen's or elsewhere will, upon request, be allowed sufficient time to do so, up to a maximum of four (4) hours. A staff member planning to attend such services shall give the department head/designate, a minimum of two (2) weeks notice of such plans.

The precise dates of observance for the 10 days listed above will be determined by the University and announced in the Gazette.

Procedures

  1. This policy applies to all staff, including part-time employees, individuals on a period of reduced responsibility, and casual employees, provided that the following criteria are met:
    • the employee has worked the last scheduled work day preceding the holiday and their first scheduled work day following the holiday.
       
  2. An employee on a leave of absence without pay for a period of more than three days, is not eligible for Observed Holidays that may occur during the period.

  3. An employee who is absent on one or both of the qualifying days listed above due to verified illness or approved leave of absence with pay (for example, bereavement leave), shall not lose their entitlement under this policy.

  4. When an observed holiday falls during a staff member's regular scheduled day off, the staff member shall receive an additional day off with pay at a mutually convenient time to the Employer and the employee.

  5. When an observed holiday falls during a staff member's paid vacation the staff member shall receive an additional day of vacation in lieu of the observed holiday at a mutually convenient time to the Employer and the employee.

  6. Should an observed holiday fall on a Saturday or Sunday, the University shall designate an alternate day of observance, with the exception of Christmas, Boxing Day and New Years Day. For these days, the alternative day shall be considered part of the University Closure days between Christmas Day and New Year's Day, unless New Year's Day falls on a Sunday in which case it will be observed on Monday, January 2.

  7. Employees required to work on an observed holiday will receive payment at time and one half for the actual hours worked, in addition to their regular pay for the day itself. An employee has the option to receive payment for actual hours worked in the form of monetary compensation or equivalent time off with pay at a mutually convenient time to the Employer and the employee. Decisions regarding which of these options will be chosen, should be reached between the Department and the employee prior to the observed holiday.