Queen's University Queen's University
Search Type

Initiative Campaign

Student Awards, Chairs and Professorships

Student Awards

Queen’s University warmly thanks those who established the following Awards, approved by Senate between May 1, 2012 and April 30, 2013.

The Selim Akl Scholarship in Computing
Established by Selim Akl, Director of the School of Computing.
The Dr. Mustafa K. Alkan Memorial Award
Established by Martha Emma Adeline Bouck (Colley), MD’59, in memory of her late husband, Dr Mustafa K Alkan, an American Pathologist, who was born in Cyprus and educated at the University of Istanbul.
The BCom 1980 Award
Established by the Class of Commerce 1980 to commemorate their 30th reunion.
Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP Scholarship
Established by Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP.
The Lorraine and Paul F. Campbell Award
Established by Paul F Campbell, BSc'65, and Lorraine Campbell.
ConeTec Geotechnical Award
Established by ConeTec Investigations Ltd.
The George L. Cooke Admission Award
Established by friends and colleagues in honour of George L Cooke, BAH'75, MBA'77.
Drilling and Blasting Scholarship
Established by James Archibald, BSc’71, MSc’73, PhD’77, and the Rock Mechanics Group.
The Michael D. Failes Graduate Fellowship in Labour and Employment Law
Established by students, friends and colleagues in memory of Michael D Failes, LLM'86, distinguished scholar, highly respected counsel and advocate, teacher and friend.
The John A. Harvey Memorial Scholarship
Established by Mary Harvey, in memory of her late husband, John A "Jack" Harvey, BSc'45 (Physics), a Saskatoon native, accomplished Nuclear Physicist and Tricolour and Jenkins Trophy winner.
Hatch Aboriginal Scholars Award
Established by Hatch Ltd.
The Brad J. Lamb Condominium Award
Established by Brad J Lamb, BSc'84 (Mechanical Engineering).
Leadership and Entrepreneurial Admission Award
Established by Michael Nowlan, BCom'82, in honour of Commerce ’82 thirtieth anniversary.
The David L. Lindsay Award for Public Policy Studies
Established by friends and colleagues in honour of David L Lindsay, BCom'81, former deputy minister in the Ontario government and a fellow at the School of Policy Studies.
LoyaltyOne/AIR MILES Reward Program Scholarship
Established by LoyaltyOne Inc/AIR MILES Reward Program.
The Paul and Linda Lucas Bursary in Medicine
Established by Canada’s Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx&D), and Linda and Paul Lucas, BSc’72, past Chair of the Board of Rx&D.
The Professor Norman MacIntosh MBA Entrance Scholarship
Established by Jos Wintermans, MBA’72, in honour of Professor Norman MacIntosh, widely known and respected accounting scholar, and professor in Queen’s School of Business from 1967-1998.
The Andrew R McCulloch Award in Electrical and Computer Engineering
Established by Andrew R McCulloch, BSc’52 (Electrical Engineering).
The Dorothy J W Bell (Reynolds) McCulloch Award in English
Established by Dorothy J W  Bell (Reynolds) McCulloch, BA'03 (English).
The Douglas and Deborah McCutcheon Award
Established by Douglas McCutcheon, BCom'87, and Deborah McCutcheon, BScH'86.
The Juliet Milsome Award
Established by Juliet Milsome, BA'77.
The Mining 1988 Scholarship
Established by the Class of Mining 1988 leading up to their 25th reunion in 2013.
Bruce Mitchell Academic Leadership Award
Established by Bruce H Mitchell, BSc'68.
The Edward and Nancy Nash Scholarship
Established by Edward (Ted) Nash, BCom'85.
The John Nixon Bursary
The John Nixon Scholarship
Established by John Nixon, BCom'77.
The Nursing 1999 Award
Established by the Class of Nursing 1999.
The Pahle-Whitaker Award in English
Established by family and friends in memory of Patricia J Whitaker, BA'84, and her husband, Jack Whitaker.
Piasetzki Nenniger Kvas LLP Scholarship in IP Law
Established by James Nenniger, BSc'79, LLB'82, Gregory Piasetzki, LLB'80, and Christopher J Kvas, on behalf of Piasetzki Nenniger Kvas LLP.
Police and Peace Officers' Memorial Ribbon Award
Established by Queen’s University.
The QuARMS Admission Travel Bursary
Established by the Faculty of Health Sciences.
The Perras Shugart Commerce and Athletics Award
Established by Patti Perras Shugart, BCom'86, and Paul Shugart, BScH'79.
The Strathaven Entrance Award
Established by Emily Goldner and Michael J Humphries, BCom'93.
Principal Wallace Freedom of Opportunity Award
Established by Alfred Bader, BSc'45 (Engineering), BA'46, MSc'47 (Engineering), LLD'86, and Isabel Bader, LLD'97, in honour of Queen’s 11th Principal, Robert Charles Wallace, LLD'30, a just and fair man who opened the way to a Queen’s education for Alfred Bader.
The James Carrigan Walls Scholarship
Established by Stephen Sorensen, BCom'76, in memory of James Carrigan Walls, BSc'82 (Civil Eng).
William Young Award
Established by Queen’s University in honour of William Young, BSc’77 to recognize his long-standing commitment to Queen’s University and his faithful service to the Board of Trustees from 1996 to 2012.

Chairs and Professorships

Queen’s University warmly thanks those who established the following Professorship, approved by the University between May 1, 2012 and April 30, 2013.  (No Chairs were established during this period.)

Canadian Chiropractic Research Foundation Professorship in Rehabilitation Therapy
Established by the Canadian Chiropractic Research Foundation.