ITS

Information Technology Services
Information Technology Services

Remove a Shared Mailbox From Your Outlook Client

A shared mailbox is a special email account that makes it easy for multiple individuals to read and respond to the email received in the shared mailbox. A shared mailbox is not owned by the person or persons who receive and respond to the email; it is owned by the department (or organization). Permissions to access the shared mailbox are controlled by the department's Exchange Administrator.    

Rather than log into the shared mailbox account, the user is given permissions to access the account.  They configure their email client (Office 365 and Outlook) to access the account, logging in with their own NetID and password.  When they respond to an email in the shared mailbox, instead of the From: field containing their name, it will contain the name of the shared mailbox account.  When a message is sent or replied to, the email looks like it was sent by the shared mailbox, not from the individual who is actually sending the email. 

If you no longer need to monitor a shared mailbox it should be removed from your email client.  Follow the instructions below to remove a shared mailbox.  Note:  removing the shared mailbox will not affect the contents of the shared mailbox, you will just not be accessing it from your account any longer.

If you previously configured Outlook to access a shared mailbox there is now a better way to configure it.  This new method will automatically place sent mail in the shared mailboxes sent folder and the From field will be populated with the name of the shared mailbox. You will need to remove the shared mailbox from your Outlook client and then re-configure Outlook using the updated instructions available in the Access a Shared Mailbox Tutorial.

 


Remove a Shared Mailbox Account From Your Outlook Client 

  1. Make sure Outlook is completely closed before you begin
    • Open the Control Panel
    • Select Mail (32 bit)

     
     

  2. The Mail Setup - Outlook screen will open 
    • Click the Email Accounts... button

     
     

  3. The E-mail Accounts screen will open
    • If your shared mailbox account is listed under your account, click the Remove button and skip to Step 8
    • If only your mailbox account is shown select Change...

  4. The Change Account screen will open
    • Click the More Settings... button

  5. The Microsoft Exchange screen will open
    • Select the Advanced tab
    • Select the shared mailbox to remove
    • Click the Remove button
    • Click the OK button

  6. The Change Account - Server Settings screen will re-open
    • Click the Next  button

  7. The Change Account screen will open
    • Click the Finish button

  8. The Account Settings screen will open
    • Click the Close button

  9. When you open Outlook the Shared mailbox will no longer be listed at the bottom of the folder list.