Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University
 

Permissions


As the owner of the QShare space you determine who will have access to the folders and files stored there.  The Document Manager Grid has a Shared With column.  This column gives a quick glance at who a folder or file is shared with

 

 

None This means only you as the owner of the QShare space will have access to the folder and/or file
Some Means you are sharing with some users but not all users.  This could include your entire department, groups you have created, or single users.
Everyone

Could mean you are sharing with Authenticated Users.  Since to Authenticate you require a NetID, this means anyone who has a NetID.  In other words - everyone at Queen's.

 

It could also mean that you are sharing with the public.

 

Note:  QShare 7.2  has an enhanced search feature.  This search feature will allow the QShare database to be searched for files based on words contained in the document and will extend to  a much wider selection of document types.  If you have given permissions to Authenticated Users or Public, these folders or files could be revealed in a search.

 

As each folder and file is created is it is given a basic set of three permissions:

 

  • Owner.  You are the owner of the folders and files within your QShare space. These permissions cannot be taken away.
  • Users with Accounts.  Accounts mean anyone with a Queen’s NetID.  If you want your folder to be accessible by everyone at Queen’s you would use this setting to share your folder  
  • Public.  This could be anyone in the world.  Public does not require the users to authenticate.


Additionally you can give individual users permission to folders and/or files and you can create your own groups and give them permission to your folders and/or files. 

 

As a good practice, every time you create a folder you should check the permissions for the folder.  If you have permissions being inherited from a parent folder you will need to decide if those permissions should remain for the current folder and its contents.

 

 To Set Permissions

 

  1. Navigate to the folder of file you want to set permissions for
    • Right mouse click
    • From the flyout menu choose Manage and then Permissions
    one.png
  2. The Basic Permissions screen will open 
    • Note that only the original permissions have been assigned to this folder.
    • The Owner has Other Permissions assigned.  To view what these permissions are click the Advanced Permissions tab.
    • If you want to change the permissions of a user or group click the radio button that is associated with the permissions you want to give and click the Applybutton
    • To remove access from a User or Group check the box beside the User or Groups name and click the Remove Access button
    two.png
  3. Add a User/Group 
    • Click the Add User/Group button
    three.png
  4. The Add Users and Groups to your Permissions screen will open 
    • Click the Search for Users button
    five.png
  5. The Find User Screen will open
    • Click the down arrow to open the Advanced Search
    six.png
  6. The Advanced Search section will open 
    • From the where: drop down menu select NetID
    • Note:  NetID will give the best results.  Email depends on what email is stored in the LDAP data base (NetID or your.name)
    • In the Find User or Group: box enter the NetID to search for
    • Click the Find button
    seven.png
  7. The Results will be shown in the lower section of the screen 
    • Select the correct NetID
    • Click the OKbutton
    eight.png
  8. The Add Users and Groups to your Permissions screen will re-open
    • Continue searching for users until all your users are added
    • Click the Next button
    nine.png
  9. The Grant Permissions screen will open
    • The users and/or groups you added will be listed
    • As a default Viewer (Read-only) permissions are granted
    • Change the permissions as you like
    • Click the Finish button
    • Note:  The type column indicates whether they are a User or a Contact List
    ten.png
  10. The Permissions For screen will re-open
    • The new Users and Groups are added to the list of permissions
    • Click the Exit button.
    eleven.png

Permissions have now been assigned to your folder or file. To notify the users you have given permission to, you can use the Sharing Wizard.  If you prefer you can view the Manage => Summary screen and copy the Full URL or the Intellilink URL into and email or other type of message. 




Kingston, Ontario, Canada K7L 3N6 613.533.2000