Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University
 

Managing Users

 


 

Adding a User to a Publication

 

As the Site Administrator it is your responsibility to add additional users to your Web Publication and assign their roles.

 

There are 4 roles you will be able to assign:

  • Site Administrator - users assigned this role will have complete control of the site, just as you do.  It is always a good idea to have more than 1 Site Administrator in case that control is needed while you are on holidays.
  • Publisher - A publisher can create a page, edit a page, and publish a page
  • Editor - An editor can create a page and edit a page, but cannot publish a page.
  • Visitor - A visitor can log into the site and look around, but cannot create, edit, delete, publish or unpublish a page.

 

To Add a User to a Publication

 

  1. From the Management menu select People

     

    one-small.png
  2. The People menu will open
    • Click  Add user
    two-small.png
  3. The Add User screen will open
    • Enter the NetID of the person you are adding
    • Enter the email address of the person you are adding
    • Status should be marked as Active
    • The check box beside Notify user of new account should be checked.  This will send an email to the person giving instructions on how to access the web page
    • Check the box beside the Role the user will have
    • Click the Create New Account button
    adding-user.jpg
  4. The account will be created.  A Green box will be displayed indicating that A welcome message is being sent to the new user "user name"
    • If you want to add another person, complete the information on the screen
    • When finished click the x box located on the upper right side or click the Home button
    four-small.png

Editing User Detail

Once a user has been added to a publication the Site Administrator can edit their details to change their Role or email address.   

  1. From the Management menu select People

     

    one-small.png
  2. The People screen will open 
    • Locate the user who's details you wish to edit
    • Click edit  
  3. The account information screen will open
    • Make the changes
    • Click the Save button.

 

Removing a Person from a Publication

 

When removing a person from a publication it is important to remember that the web pages they have created are associated with their account.  The Site Administrator has to decide how to handle this association.  

 

The choice available are:

  • Disable the account and keep its content
    • The account will continue to be visible in the list of people
    • The User will not be able to edit or publish or perform any other actions their role allowed
    • Any content they created will continue to belong to them. 
    • Anyone else, with the same role, will be able to manage their content.
  • Delete the account and make its content belong to the Anonymous user
    • The User's account will be removed from the publication
    • They will no longer be able to edit, publish or perform any actions their role allowed
    • Any content they created will now belong to the Anonymous user
    • Anyone else, with the same role, will be able to manage their content

The major difference is who's name will be attached to the content. 

 

 

  1. From the Management menu select the People menu 

     

    remove-one.png
  2. The People menu will open
    • Locate the Username (NetID) of the person you wish to remove
    • Check the box beside their username
    • Click their Edit button
    remove-one-b.png
  3. Their account information screen will open
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen
    • Click the Cancel account button
    • Note:  you can also change their Role (removing permissions) or change their Status to Blocked.  If their Status is Blocked their account will continue to exist but they will not be able to log in.
    remove-two.png
  4. The When cancelling the account screen will open
    • You can choose to Disable the account and keep its content or to Delete the account and make its content belong to the Anonymous user
    • Select the method to cancel the account.  Caution - this action can not be undone
    • Click the Cancel account button
    remove-four.png
  5. The Update Options menu contains other options that can be applied to users
    • Block and Cancel can be performed here
    • Select multiple accounts at a time to apply the same changes to
    • Click the Update button

Kingston, Ontario, Canada K7L 3N6 613.533.2000