ITS

Information Technology Services
Information Technology Services

WebPublish Update Notes


May 24, 2018 Update Notes

On Thursday, May 24, 2018, ITS will be deploying an update to WebPublish. While the focus of this update is on fixing security-related issues, meaning that most changes will not be visible to users, please note that there will be a few minor changes to the user experience:

If you have any questions or concerns about this update, please submit your enquiry via the Online Help Form or by contacting the IT Support Centre at x36666.  Please include the name and URL of your website in your enquiry.


Changes to the WYSIWYG Toolbar
WYSIWYG stands for "what you see is what you get". As a result of changes to browser security, the following tools are no longer functional and have been removed from the WYSIWYG toolbar:
  • Paste from plain text
  • Paste from Word

You will still be able to paste content into the WYSIWYG using the following shortcuts: CTRL + SHIFT + V, to paste as plain text and CTRL + V to paste from Word. For more information on copying and pasting content in WebPublish, please see our tutorial, Copy & Paste.

The following new features are now available on the WYSIWYG toolbar. For details on using these tools, please see our Toolbar Icons tutorial.

  1. Underline
  2. Strikethrough
  3. Find
  4. Replace

Click the '+' to view the changes to the toolbar.

Before:

Screenshot of the old WYSIWYG toolbar, highlighting the "Paste from Plain Text" and "Paste from Word" buttons that have been removed

After: 

screenshot of the new WYSIWYG toolbar, highlighting the new icons

Updates to the CKFinder
The CKFinder is the file manager and uploader that allows you to add images and documents to your site. It now has a new look and feel, as well as new image editing capabilities, such as:
  • resizing
  • cropping
  • image adjustments (e.g., brightness, contrast, saturation, exposure, etc.)

To learn more about how to use the new features of the CKFinder, see our Links and Images Tutorials.

Click the "+" to view the changes to the interface

Before:

Screenshot of the CKFinder prior to the update

Now:

Screenshot of the CKFinder after the update, highlighting the new upload and new subfolder options on the left and the filter/sort/viewing options on the left

'Node Embed' Permission for Publishers and Editors
Previously, users with the Publisher and Editor roles were unable to use the "node embed" feature to embed content types, such as slideshows. Users with these roles now have this capability. For more information on embedding content, see our tutorial on Creating and Editing a Slideshow.
 
Click the '+' to view an example.
 

When editing a page, publishers and editors can now use the 'node embed' feature of the WYSIWYG, pictured below:

Screenshot of the WYSIWYG toolbar highlighting the Node Embed button

Changes to the 'Revert' Feature of Page Moderation

Previously, when using the "Revert" feature to revert a published piece of content to an earlier revision, the content would remain in its published state, with the earlier version appearing in the "View Draft" tab. 

Now, when reverting to an earlier revision, the content will also be reverted to the moderation state of that revision. An example of this change in functionality is illustrated below. Also, updated step-by-step instructions on how to revert content are available in our tutorial, Reverting Content to a Previous Version.

Important: There are a couple of cases where it is particularly important to be aware of the state of the revision that you are reverting to. If, for example, you have a published page on your site and you revert to a previous version that was last in a state of Draft, your page will be unpublished and put in a state of Draft. Similarly, if you were working in a draft of an unpublished page and reverted to a version of that page that was last in a state of Published, that previous version of the page would immediately be published. 

Best Practice: Always check the moderation state of a previous version before reverting to it. This can be identified in the "Moderation Actions" column. A single revision may have changed states a number of times; if so, look for the first bullet point in the list. The change in state will always be in the format [Moderation State] --> [Moderation State]. The relevant state when reverting is the one to the right of the arrow. 

 

Click the '+' to view an example.

Example: the following screenshot shows the Moderation tab of an example page, prior to reverting to a previous version. The current published version is highlighted in green and the current draft is highlighted in pink. To revert to Revision 295, we can see that the state of this revision is "Draft", indicated in the screenshot below:

Screenshot of the Moderate tab, highlighting an earlier revision in a state of draft

After selecting "Revert" for this revision, the results are as follows (pictured in the screenshot below):

  1. The page has been unpublished
  2. A new revision, Revision 299, has been created. This is the current draft of the page, which is now a copy of revision 295.

Screenshot of the Moderate tab, indicating the state of the current revision (draft)

Last updated: May 23, 2018