Electroacoustic Music Studio

Electroacoustic Music Studio

The intention of the EMS, since its creation, has been to provide state of the art facilities for electroacoustic music composition, research, and teaching.

Queen's Electroacoustic Music StudioThe Queen's Electroacoustic Music Studio was founded in 1970 by David Keane, who remained Director of the EMS until 1997. In 1973 the studios moved into the newly opened Harrison-LeCaine Building, where it is still currently housed. 

Queen's EMS Studio AComposers from Queen's Electroacoustic Music Studio have had a significant role in developing electroacoustic music in Canada and in establishing Canada's considerable international profile in the field. Faculty and graduates from Queen's who have contributed significantly to the field of electroacoustic music include Hugh Le Caine, Istvan Anhalt, David Keane, Bruce Pennycook, Keith Hamel, Barry Truax, William Buxton, Kristi Allik, and Kirk Elliot. Both faculty and students have been the recipients of many international awards in electroacoustic music and in integrated media and multimedia works, including the Bourges (GMEB) and Prix Ars Electronica prizes.

The EMS has hosted a number of national and international music events; as well, internationally known composers and researchers have accepted invitations to work at the EMS. Thus, the Queen's Electroacoustic Music Studio continues to have a high profile both nationally and internationally as well as providing a valuable service to the School of Music and to the Queen's University community.

Electroacoustic music students have the opportunity to present their works in surround sound as part of the Mosaic Concert Series.

Queen's EMS Studio D