Queen's University

Congratulations to this year's staff award recipients!

A staff team from the School of Kinesiology and Health Studies received a Queen's Special Recognition for Staff Award. Principal Daniel Woolf (second from left) presented the award to team members (left to right) Melody Monte, Kathy Jackson, Sherri Ferris, Tim Dowker, Angie Maltby and Josie Birchall. Trish Stenzl was absent.

Seven staff members and a team from the School of Kinesiology and Health Studies (SKHS) are this year’s recipients of Special Recognition for Staff Awards.

The awards recognize staff members who consistently provide outstanding contributions during their workday, directly or indirectly, to the learning and working environment at Queen’s above and beyond what is usually expected.

During SKHS’ two-month move into its new home at the end of 2009 and in early 2010, team members Kathy Jackson, Angie Maltby, Melody Monte, Josie Birchal, Trish Stenzl, Tim Dowker and Sherri Ferris maintained their high work standards while preparing for every aspect of the changeover.

“Being nominated for this award by members of SKHS demonstrates that people recognize and appreciate the work the staff does on behalf of the unit, often behind the scenes,” says Ms Jackson on behalf of the team.

Spring Forsberg, as orientation/recruitment coordinator and academic counsellor in the Faculty of Arts and Science, is a model of compassion and caring for students. She served as the president of the Queen’s University Staff Association from 2000-2010.

“I am honoured and moved by both the nomination and the selection. It is very humbling to be recipient of such an award because there are so many worthy staff members,” she says.

Jerry Dering, a glassware washer in Microbiology and Immunology, has cheerfully and conscientiously ensured the safe and efficient operation of his unit over the last 22 years.

“This award means a lot to me because it is submitted by the people I work with every day and is based on my performance here at the university over the years,” he says.

The other recipients are listed below along with excerpts from the citations that Principal Daniel Woolf provided at the award ceremony.

Principal Daniel Woolf (fourth from the left) presented staff members Irene High, Spring Forsberg, Karen Pearce, Monica Corbett, Janet LeSarge, Jerry Dering and Diane Sommerfeld with Queen's Special Recognition for Staff Awards.

• Monica Corbett, director, admissions and student services, School of Graduate Studies (SGS). She has consistently made SGS a place where graduate students receive the highest quality in customer service and where staff are valued and appreciated.

• Irene High, timetabling administrator, Registrar’s Office. During her 31-year career, Ms High has become known as an innovative problem solver. She constantly demonstrates a positive attitude and infectious spirit.

• Janet LeSarge, senior administrative secretary, Pharmacology and Toxicology. For more than 30 years in the department, Ms LeSarge has been instrumental in key initiatives such as implementing the former WebCT and now Moodle software for undergraduate and graduate courses and engaging with faculty and staff about the current replacement of administrative systems.

• Karen Pearce, manager, finance and administration, Athletics and Recreation. When Athletics and Recreation became a separate entity, Ms Pearce not only embraced the new order but she looked for ways to reinvent her role in order to provide a high level of value to the department.

• Diane Sommerfeld, graduate program assistant, Biochemistry. As the person responsible for the administration and organization of all aspects of the graduate program—beginning with recruitment—Ms Sommerfeld is an indispensible resource to students.

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 3:57 pm EDT, Fri August 22, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.