Queen's University

Distinguished Service Award winners announced


A doctor, a judge and a bank executive are among this year’s recipients of the highest Queen’s honour for exemplary service to the university.

“The six outstanding recipients of this year’s Distinguished Service Awards have contributed immensely to furthering the university and its mission locally, nationally and internationally,” says Principal Daniel Woolf. “Through their hard work and selfless actions, each has had a significant, positive impact on the continuing advancement of Queen’s, for which the university community is profoundly grateful.”

The award winners come from different backgrounds but share the bond of outstanding service to Queen’s over an extended period of time. The group includes:

• David Bevan, executive director of the Bader International Study Centre for the last eight years. Under his leadership, the BISC transformed from a struggling entity to a vital, financially successful and acclaimed institution of higher learning.

• Louise Cannon, member of the Board of Trustees and senior vice president at the Bank of Nova Scotia. She is the long-serving chair of the Board of Trustee’s investment committee and was its first female member more than 20 years ago. She brings her unique skill set of legal, compliance, risk management and credit experience to the group.

• Brian Cookman, Inspector, Kingston Police Force. Committed to cooperative problem solving, Inspector Cookman is a widely respected partner and an outstanding role model in city-university relations.

• Heino Lilles, alumnus, former Faculty of Law professor and former member of the Board of Trustees and University Council for over 10 years. He recently retired from a remarkable career as a justice, including two stints as chief judge of the Yukon.

• Katie Macmillan, alumna and former member of the Board of Trustees. As chair of the board governance working group, she devoted countless hours driving the successful governance reform process.

• David Walker, alumnus and former dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences. Dr. Walker, a highly visible supporter of Queen’s, used his leadership skills to get the new Medical School building off the ground during his tenure as dean.

Principal Woolf will present the awards at the annual University Council dinner on Saturday, May 7 at Ban Righ Hall.

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 8:21 am EDT, Mon September 1, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.