Queen's University

Former Prime Minister Paul Martin among Queen's honorary degree recipients


Queen's University will confer an honorary doctorate of laws degree to the twenty-first Prime Minister of Canada Paul Martin at Spring Convocation ceremonies this month.

During his tenure as Prime Minister, Mr. Martin was able to set in place a $41 billion initiative to improve healthcare, sign a landmark agreement with the provinces and territories for a national early learning and childcare program, create a new financial deal for municipalities, and redefine marriage to include same-sex couples.

Chancellor David Dodge will preside over the ceremonies on May 12, 27, 28, 31, June 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10 and 11. They will be webcast live from the Queen’s campus.

On Wednesday, May 12 at 7 pm, Karen Armstrong will receive an honorary Doctor of Divinity
Karen Armstrong is one of the world’s leading commentators on religious affairs. She is well known for her work on Islam and Fundamentalism. She is a regular columnist for the Guardian newspaper and appears frequently as a religious affairs commentator on radio and television in the United Kingdom and the United States.

On Thursday, May 27 at 2:30 pm, Rocco Gerace will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
Rocco Gerace was appointed Registrar of the Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons in 2002. He is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in Emergency Medicine, a diplomat of the American Board of Emergency Medicine, and certified in Medical Toxicology from the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

On Friday, May 28 at 10 am, Paul Martin will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
The Right Honourable Paul Martin was the twenty-first Prime Minister of Canada from 2003 to 2006. He achieved a historic consensus with the provinces, territories, and Canada’s aboriginal leadership on an agreement entitled the Kelowna Accord, the objective of which was to ensure the provision of equal opportunity for Canada’s aboriginal population.

On Tuesday, June 1 at 2:30 pm, George Roter and Parker Mitchell will each receive an honorary Doctor of Science
In 2000, George Roter and Parker Mitchell saw huge potential in the engineering profession’s ability to contribute to a more prosperous Africa. Driven by this belief, they co-founded Engineers Without Borders Canada (EWB). Mr. Roter and Mr. Mitchell’s contributions have been featured in TIME magazine as two of Canada’s next generation of social leaders.

On Monday, June 7 at 10 am, Joe Schlesinger will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
Joseph Schlesinger is a veteran Canadian journalist who has reported for CBC Television News from every corner of the world. He has won four Gemini awards for distinguished contribution to Canadian broadcasting, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Journalism Foundation, and was named a member of the Order of Canada.

On Monday, June 7 at 2:30 pm, Donald Newman will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
Donald Newman, award-winning broadcaster and journalist, is one of Canada’s most respected political commentators. For 20 years, he served as Senior Parliamentary Editor of CBC Television News in Ottawa, where he anchored live coverage, news specials, and his daily Politics program. He is a life member of the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery.

On Wednesday, June 9 at 6:30 pm, Donald Drummond will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
Donald Drummond has served as the Assistant Deputy Minister of Fiscal Policy and Economic Analysis, Assistant Deputy Minister of Tax Policy and Legislation, and Associate Deputy Minister. As the Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist, Mr. Drummond leads TD Economics’ work in analyzing and forecasting economic performance in Canada and abroad.

On Thursday, June 10 at 2:30 pm, Patricia Baird will receive an honorary Doctor of Science
Patricia Baird’s work is widely recognized for explaining the distribution, natural history, and prognosis for several genetic diseases, and its societal, ethical, and policy implications. Dr. Baird has been a member of the National Advisory Board on Science and Technology, the Medical Research Council of Canada, and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research.

On Friday, June 11 at 2:30 pm, Thomas Cromwell will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws
The Honourable Thomas Cromwell was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada in 2008. He has also held many other offices including Secretary, Board of Governors, National Judicial Institute; President, Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice; and Chair of the Board, Canadian Forum on Civil Justice.

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 3:43 pm EDT, Tue September 2, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.