Queen's University

High school teachers receive prestigious Baillie Award


Four outstanding secondary school teachers from across Canada will be presented with the Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching at Queen's University's spring convocation.

The new award, established by Chancellor Charles Baillie, enables students graduating from Queen's to honour educators who made a positive influence on them during their high school careers, setting them on the course that brought them to Queen's.

Krishna Burra (LaSalle Secondary School), Jennifer Ryan (Cole Harbour District High School, Dartmouth Nova Scotia), Karen Dick (Westdale Secondary School, Toronto), and Georgia Rosalle (Markham District High School, Toronto) will receive their awards at spring convocation from the students who nominated them. Each recipient will receive $5000 to recognize their work. 

“There is no greater honour for a teacher than to see their former students be successful – both Gemma (Boag) and Pat (Tye) have been successful and they have definitely expressed their thanks through this award,” says Krishna Burra, award recipient. “I am very passionate about teaching and I always tried to convey that passion to my students in such a way that it would spark their interest and foster further learning and critical thinking,”

Mr. Burra taught both students history and politics at Sydenham High School. He will receive his award during convocation ceremonies on June 3 at 2:30 p.m.

The idea for the award stemmed from an article about access to education in the New York Times by Thomas Friedman. With support from VP Academic, Patrick Deane, the idea was turned into an annual award to recognize exceptional teachers who have served as role models and mentors, and instilled a love of learning.

“This award seems like an ideal way of stimulating interest in secondary school teachers, which in turn could make a profound impact on the secondary school education system,” says Dr. Baillie.

Chancellor Baillie retires at the end of June after serving two three years-terms as Queen's Chancellor.

Georgia Rosalle will receive her award during the morning convocation on May 27. Karen Dick, and Jennifer Ryan will receive their awards on June 3 during the afternoon.

If you are interested in arranging an interview with one of the Baillie Award recipients contact Communications Assistants, Molly Kehoe, molly.kehoe@queensu.ca, 613.533.2877, or Alissa Clark, alissa.clark@queensu.ca, 613.533.6000 ext 77513, Queen's News & Media Services.


Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 10:25 am EDT, Tue September 2, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.