Queen's University

Write an Op-Ed

Op-ed editors are inundated with submissions. Your chances of being published depend on how relevant, concise and opinionated you are.

To increase your odds of having your op-ed printed:

  • Be relevant. Connect your piece to a topical issue in the news, a new government report, an issue of current public debate, new research findings etc.
  • Capture the reader from the outset. 
  • Take a stand at the beginning. Outline the issues but come down strongly on one side. 
  • Back up your position with factual, statistical info or direct personal experience. 
  • By the second paragraph the reader should know where you stand.
  • Be personal and conversational not academic, distant, philosophizing. 
  • Avoid jargon and insider terms. You will lose a general audience by using academic or technical language. 
  • Use active language and avoid clichés.
  • End your piece by restating your argument in the strongest terms, and make suggestions for how to improve matters.
  • Be concise – no more than 800 words.

Remember:

  • Include your full name, credentials and contact information
  • Send the op-ed within the body of an e-mail, not as an attachment
  • Put “Op-ed Submission” in the email subject line
  • Submissions need to be exclusive to one media outlet. Don’t send it to a second newspaper until you’ve been declined by the first one.
  • The media reserve the right to edit, condense or reject your contribution

Contact communications officers Anne Craig 613-533-2877 or Rosie Hales 613-533-6000 ext. 77513 if you want help submitting your op-ed or professional editing prior to submission - anne.craig@queensu.ca or rosie.hales@queensu.ca.

Op-ed contacts for print media:

Globe and Mail
Natasha Hassan, Comment Editor
nhassan@globeandmail.com

National Post
Matt Gurney, Comment Editor
mgurney@nationalpost.com

Toronto Star
Fred Edwards, Deputy Editorial Page Editor
oped@thestar.ca

Toronto Sun
Adrienne Batra, Comment Editor
Adrienne.Batra@sunmedia.ca

Ottawa Citizen
Kate Heartfield, Op-ed Editor
kheartfield@ottawacitizen.com

Kingston Whig-Standard
Andrew Carroll, Editor
andrew.carroll@sunmedia.ca
613-544-5000 ext. 140

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 4:16 pm EDT, Fri August 29, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.