Queen's University

For the Record: April 26, 2012

Thu, 04/26/2012


Dr. Martin W. ten Hove — Acting Head, Department of Ophthalmology

Dr. Alan Harrison, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) at Queen’s University, Mrs. Sherri McCullough, Chair of the Board of Directors for Hotel Dieu Hospital, and Ms Leslee Thompson, President and Chief Executive Officer of Kingston General Hospital, are pleased to announce that Dr. Martin ten Hove has been appointed Acting Head of Ophthalmology at Queen’s University, Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital for the period April 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.

Following the receipt of his MD from Queen’s University in 1989 and the completion of his postgraduate training in neuro-ophthalmology as a McLaughlin Fellow at the University of Miami in 1995, Dr. ten Hove returned to Queen’s as an assistant professor in the Department of Ophthalmology. He served as the department’s postgraduate program director from the time of his appointment until 2000 and he was promoted to associate professor and awarded tenure in 2001. Dr. ten Hove previously served as Acting Head from 2003 to 2004 and he has been the Deputy Head of the Department of Ophthalmology since 2005.

Dr. ten Hove is actively involved in research into the neural mechanisms underlying visual attention. He has often been invited to present his work at national and international meetings. He has served on the Examination Committee of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, on the Royal College Specialty Committee for Ophthalmology, and on the editorial boards for the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology and the Journal of Neuro-ophthalmology. He has worked with ORBIS, the CNIB and the University of West Indies to bring tertiary level ophthalmology to remote locations to help fulfill their educational and clinical needs.

In making this announcement, the Provost and Board Chairs wish to express their appreciation for the excellent leadership provided by Dr. Sherif El-Defrawy during his eight-year tenure as Head of the Department of Ophthalmology.


Headship Search Committee appointed for the Department of Otolaryngology

A joint Headship Search Committee for the Department of Otolaryngology has been established to provide advice to the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) of Queen’s University and the Chief Executive Officers of Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital on the present state and future prospects of the Department of Otolaryngology and its future leadership.

The membership of the Committee includes:

Mr. Robert Boucher, Board Representative, Hotel Dieu Hospital
Dr. Stephen F. Hall, Professor, Department of Otolaryngology
Dr. Edmund F. Jones, Lecturer, Department of Otolaryngology
Ms Diana Magee, Undergraduate Medical Student Representative
Ms Elvira S. Miranda, Departmental Assistant, Department of Otolaryngology
Dr. Joel Parlow, Head, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
Ms Eleanor M.F. Rivoire, Vice-President, Clinical Administration and Professional Practice and Chief Nursing Executive, Kingston General Hospital
Dr. Khaled O. Zaza, Assistant Professor, Department of Oncology
Dr. David T. Zelt, Chief of Staff and Vice-President Medical Administration, Kingston General Hospital
Dr. C. Dale Mercer (co-chair), Chief of Staff, Hotel Dieu Hospital
Dr. Iain D. Young (co-chair), Executive Vice-Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
Mrs. Gail L. Knutson (secretary), Senior Staffing Officer, Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty, staff, students, residents and all other members of the Hospital and University communities are invited to submit comments, in writing, on the present state and future prospects of the department as well as the names of possible candidates for the Headship and the reasons for supporting each nominee. Submissions are to be directed to the co-chairs c/o Gail Knutson, Faculty of Health Sciences, Macklem House, 18 Barrie Street, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, K7L 3N6. Electronic submissions can be forwarded to gail.knutson@queensu.ca. Please note that committee members are required to maintain confidentiality regarding the Committee’s deliberations; submissions, which are shared with committee members, form part of the search process and are also confidential. Submissions are to be received by Friday, May 18, 2012. Anonymous submissions will not be considered.


2012 Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision

The School of Graduate Studies provides this award to recognize those outstanding supervisors who demonstrate excellence in advising, monitoring and mentoring graduate students through their training. Excellence is judged on the quality of supervision and mentorship in facilitating the acquisition of skills and resources needed for the student to succeed as scholars and professionals. Characteristics include availability, timeliness and quality of guidance and feedback, responsiveness to student needs, and enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge. In addition the supervisor must promote timely completion of the thesis and encourage the career development of the student through the provision of leadership and support in academic matters such as publishing, presenting, applying for funding. Preference will be given to faculty members who have displayed sustained mentorship activity over many years.

For further details and a nomination form please visit the SGS website. Complete nomination packages must be submitted to the School of Graduate Studies no later than Monday, April 30 at 4:30 pm.


Renewal, tenure, promotion applications

Under the terms of the collective agreement between Queen’s and Queen’s University Faculty Association for faculty, librarians and archivists, Aug. 15 is the deadline for regular faculty to apply for renewal, tenure or promotion; librarians and archivists to apply for renewal, continuing appointment or promotion; and adjuncts to apply for promotion. Members must notify their unit head of their intent to apply for renewal, tenure, continuing appointment or promotion by July 1.

Articles that refer to these procedures: Article 24 – Employment Equity; Article 30 – Renewal, Tenure and Promotion for Tenure-Track and Tenured Faculty Members; Article 31 – Renewal, Continuing Appointment and Promotion for Librarian and Archivist Members; Article 32.6  Promotion for Adjunct Members.

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 9:45 pm EDT, Mon September 1, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.