Queen's University

For the Record: December 20, 2010

Mon, 12/20/2010


Faculty appointments

Dr. Hollins appointed acting head, Department of Otolaryngology

Russell Hollins has been appointed acting head of otolaryngology at Queen’s University, Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital for an 18-month term from January 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012. These appointments are announced by Daniel Woolf, principal of Queen’s University, Sherri McCullough, chair of the Hotel Dieu Hospital board of directors, and Chris Cunningham, chair of the Kingston General Hospital board of directors.

After graduating from Queen’s University in 1991 with a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry, Dr. Hollins completed his undergraduate medical training at the University of Ottawa, obtaining his Doctor of Medicine in 1995. He completed his residency training in otolaryngology at the University of Toronto in 2000 and he commenced his appointment as an assistant professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at Queen’s University in August 2000.

An active contributor to education, Dr. Hollins’ interest lies primarily in the area of undergraduate medical education. A key member of the teaching team, he has served as the Phase IIB course chair for otolaryngology since 2002 and as the Phase III director of electives since 2008. Until recently, Dr. Hollins represented the department on the joint ambulatory clinics committee for Hotel Dieu and Kingston General Hospitals and he is currently a member of the operating room committee. He maintains a busy clinical practice to which he brings his expertise in endocrine and endoscopic sinus surgery, and he regularly participates in the Hearing Impaired Clinic which is a multi-disciplinary clinic for children who have congenital hearing loss.

In making this announcement, the principal and the board chairs wish to express their appreciation to Andre Tan for his contributions over the past 11 and a half years during which he has served as head of the Department of Otolaryngology.

Kim Nossal named director of the Centre for International Relations

Peter Harrison, director of the School of Policy Studies, recently announced the appointment of Kim Richard Nossal as director of the Centre for International Relations from January 1, 2011 until June 30, 2016.

Following Ph.D. studies at the University of Toronto, Dr. Nossal joined the Department of Political Science at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, where he taught international relations and Canadian foreign policy and served as chair of the department in 1989-90 and 1992-1996. In 2001, he came to Queen’s University, heading the Department of Political Studies until 2009. His research interests include Canadian foreign and defence policy, Australian foreign and defence policy, Canadian-American relations, and international stabilization missions.

He has served as editor of International Journal, the quarterly journal of the Canadian International Council, Canada's Institute of International Affairs (1992-1997); president of the Australian and New Zealand Studies Association of North America (1999-2001); and president of the Canadian Political Science Association (2005-2006). From 2001 until 2010, he served on the academic selection committee of the Security and Defence Forum of the Department of National Defence.

Dr. Harrison expresses his deep appreciation to Charles Pentland who so ably served as QCIR director for over eight years. He will return to full-time engagement as a faculty member in the Department of Political Studies and continue to teach a course in the School of Policy Studies.


Department of Art

Clive Robertson’s term as acting head of the Department of Art is scheduled to end on June 30, 2011. Principal Daniel Woolf has appointed a selection committee to advise him on the appointment of the next head. The selection committee has the following membership:

Elected members: Una D’Elia, associate professor; Janice Helland, professor; Cathleen Hoeniger, associate professor; Allison Morehead, assistant professor; Krysia Spirydowicz, associate professor.

Appointed members: Samantha King, cognate faculty, School of Kinesiology and Health Studies; Diane Platt, administrative assistant; Kathryn Poy, undergraduate student; Sarah Smith, graduate student.

Non-voting members: Alistair MacLean, dean, Faculty of Arts and Science; David Rappaport, associate dean, School of Graduate Studies.

Chair: Catherine Krull, acting associate dean, Faculty of Arts and Science.

Recording secretary: Diane Reid, Faculty of Arts and Science.

Pursuant to Articles 41.3 and 41.3.5 of the Collective Agreement between Queen’s University Faculty Association and Queen’s University at Kingston, you are invited to submit your comments on the present state and future prospects of the Department of Art by January 17, 2011. You are also asked to submit names of possible candidates for the headship.

Please send all comments to the attention of Ms Reid via email. All letters will be reviewed by the selection committee and will become part of the record of decision-making. At the request of either the department members or the selection committee, a meeting can be arranged between the department and the committee to ascertain department members’ views on the qualities required in a head. Once a short list has been established, it will be distributed to members of the department for further input on the merits of the respective candidates.

Committee position vacancies available for students

The Senate Committee on Academic Development and Senate Orientation Review Board have vacancies for students to serve.

Information regarding the vacancies may be found online.

For more information contact Gail MacAllister, Governance Officer, University Secretariat, via email or at ext. 79520.


Call for Distinguished Service nominations

Do you know someone who has worked tirelessly in support of Queen’s and deserves recognition? Consider nominating them for a Queen’s Distinguished Service Award.

First awarded in 1974, the Distinguished Service Awards are presented annually in May at the University Council meeting and dinner. The 176 recipients to date include alumni, staff, faculty members, former principals, retirees, donors and friends – all of whom have in some way helped to make the university a better place.

Although the deadline is a few months away on February 4, 2011, the selection committee would like people to start thinking about submitting and preparing a nomination before the holiday season ramps up over the next few weeks.

All alumni and members of University Council (this includes members of Senate and the Board of Trustees) are invited to nominate candidates. Other university community members with nomination suggestions are encouraged to contact a representative. Membership lists are posted on the University Secretariat website under the Senate, Board and University Council categories.

For details and nomination forms, you can visit this website, email or call (613) 533-6095.

Call for Teaching and Learning Enhancement Grants

The Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL), in partnership with ITServices, invites proposals for the 2011 Teaching and Learning Enhancement Grants. The deadline is January 10.

These grants are intended to encourage innovation and support activities and projects designed to enhance student learning at Queen’s. More information about the grants is available on the website.


Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 4:16 pm EDT, Fri August 29, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.