Queen's University

For the Record: July 4, 2011

Mon, 07/04/2011


Faculty of Health Sciences

• Kelly Howse, Family Medicine (May 1, 2011)

• Joan Almost, School of Nursing (July 1, 2011)

• Kevin Woo, School of Nursing (July 1, 2011)

• Daniel Baxter, Diagnostic Radiology (July 4, 2011)

• Armita Rahmani, Emergency Medicine (July 1, 2011)

• Brent Wolfrom, Family Medicine (July 1, 2011)

• Michael Rauh, Pathology & Molecular Medicine (July 1, 2011)

• Christina Godfrey, School of Nursing (July 1, 2011)

• Darrin Payne, Surgery-Cardiothoracic Surgery (July 1, 2011)


Advisory committiee for Queen's Institute for Energy and Environmental Policy

In accordance with Queen’s University Senate Policy on “Procedures Governing the Establishment, Reporting and Review of Research Centres, Institutes and Other Entities at Queen’s University," Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Brenda Brouwer is pleased to announce the membership of the advisory committee for the review of the Queen’s Institute for Energy and Environmental Policy (QIEEP).

Brian Cumming, Department of Biology and Director, School of Environmental Studies

Laeeque Daneshmend, Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining

Kent Novakowski, Department of Civil Engineering, chair of the advisory review committee

Jeanette Parsons, Office of the Vice-Provost and Dean (School of Graduate Studies), secretary of committee

Brant Peppley, Departments of Chemical Engineering and Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Members of the university community are invited to submit their comments on the present state and future prospects of the institute to Kent Novakowski, chair of the advisory review committee, c/o the Office of the Vice-Provost and Dean (School of Graduate Studies), by Friday, July 22.

For more information on the Institute, please visit the Institute’s website at www.queensu.ca/qieep/

Search committee for Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and School of Rehabilitation Therapy director

Elsie Culham’s term as vice-dean (Health Sciences) and director of the School of Rehabilitation Therapy will end on June 30, 2012. Dr. Culham has indicated that she does not wish to be considered for reappointment for a second term and a search committee has been established to provide advice to Principal Daniel Woolf on the future leadership and the present state and future prospects of the school. The composition of the committee is:

Elected members from the School of Rehabilitation Therapy
Dr. Rosemary M. Lysaght, Associate Professor, Occupational Therapy Program
Dr. Linda B. McLean, Associate Professor, Physical Therapy Program
Dr. Margo L. Paterson, Professor, Occupational Therapy Program
Dr. Lucie Pelland, Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy Program

Appointed members
Marcina Bismilla, graduate student representative, Rehabilitation Therapy
Dr. J. Timothy Bryant, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
Charla Gray. graduate student representative, Rehabilitation Science
Sherri McCullough, Chair, Board of Directors, Hotel Dieu Hospital
Maureen McGuire, administrative leader, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Program, Providence Care
Dr. Jennifer M. Medves, Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director, School of Nursing
Eleanor M.F. Rivoire, Vice-President, Patient Care Programs and Chief Nursing Executive, Kingston General Hospital
Dr. David J.M. Ruggles, Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Sandra Turcotte, administrative coordinator, School of Rehabilitation Therapy
Dr. Iain D. Young, Vice-Dean Academic, Faculty of Health Sciences

Non-voting member
Dr. Sandra den Otter, Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Richard K. Reznick, Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Administrative Support
Gail L. Knutson, senior staffing officer, Faculty of Health Sciences

Comments on the present state and future prospects of the school and the names of possible candidates for the position of Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director of the School of Rehabilitation Therapy are invited. Submissions, which will be shared with the members of the search committee and form part of the record of decision-making, are to be directed to Dean Reznick c/o Gail Knutson, Faculty of Health Sciences, Macklem House, 18 Barrie Street, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, K7L 3N6. Electronic submissions can be forwarded to gail.knutson@queensu.ca. Anonymous submissions will not be accepted.


Faculty of Health Sciences

Request for applications--The GlaxoSmithKline-Canadian Institutes of Health Research (GSK-CIHR)
Chair in Neurosciences

The Faculty of Health Sciences seeks to fill the GlaxoSmithKline-Canadian Institutes of Health Research (GSK-CIHR) Chair in Neurosciences. The term of appointment to the chair is five years and is renewable once. Click on the link to review the terms of reference for the chair.

Applications in any domain of neurosciences are currently being invited for consideration. Applicants must hold a full-time appointment within the Faculty of Health Sciences, and must not hold a Canada Research Chair or any other federally-funded major personnel award.

The holder of the chair will provide intellectual leadership nationally and internationally and will pursue as one of their objectives, translation of their research to the benefit of individuals at risk of, or affected by, those diseases and disorders that have a clear neurological component.

Applications are to include a rationale which expresses your interest in and qualifications for the position (not to exceed two pages, single spaced), a letter from your Head of Department/Director of School confirming support and eligibility for your application (not an assessment), and an up-to-date common cv formatted and validated for CIHR, plus the cv attachments as instructed. Short-listed applicants may be asked to provide names and contact information of referees. The chosen applicant will be subjected to peer-review and final approval by the CIHR Rx&D Research Program.

Applications are to be submitted in paper and electronic formats by Friday, August 12 at 4 pm, to:

Roger G. Deeley, PhD
Vice-Dean (Research), Health Sciences, and
Chair, Dean’s Advisory Nominating Committee
Queen’s University
Ste 300-CRI, 10 Stuart Street
Kingston, ON K7L 3N6

Send electronic submissions, questions, or concerns to Gladys Smith by email or phone (613) 533-6627.


Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 9:34 am EDT, Tue September 2, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.