Queen's University

For the Record: May 24, 2012

Thu, 05/24/2012


Headship Selection Committee — Department of Civil Engineering

Dr. Kent Novakowski’s term as Head of the Department of Civil Engineering ends June 30, 2013.

In accordance with the terms of Article 41 of the Collective Agreement between Queen’s University Faculty Association and Queen’s University, a selection committee will be formed to consider the present state and future prospects of the department, and to assist the Provost and Vice Principal (Academic) in the selection of a department head. Members of the bargaining unit will elect five members. Faculty, staff and students are also invited to nominate staff and students from the Department of Civil Engineering and faculty from cognate disciplines, for membership on the selection committee. Nominations should be sent to Dean Woodhouse (Chair), c/o Donna Horner, hornerd@queensu.ca Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science by June 15, 2012. 

Headship Search Committee -- Department of Ophthalmology

In accordance with the Senate document governing the Appointment of Clinical/Academic Department Heads that was approved on March 26, 2009, the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) of Queen’s University and the Chief Executive Officers of Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital have established a joint search committee to provide advice on the headship and the present state and future prospects of the Department of Ophthalmology. The composition of the committee is:

Dr. Michel Belliveau, Resident, Department of Ophthalmology
Dr. Glenn D. Brown, Head, Department of Family Medicine
Mrs. Sandi Cox, Board Chief of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Executive, Hotel Dieu Hospital
Ms. Susan Downey, Departmental Assistant, Department of Ophthalmology
Dr. James P. Farmer, Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Mr. Jim Flett, Chief Operating Officer, Kingston General Hospital
Dr. Sanjay Sharma, Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Ms. Soniya Sharma, Undergraduate Medical Student Representative
Dr. Marianna P. Silva, Professor, Department of Paediatrics
Dr. C. Dale Mercer (Co-Chair), Chief of Staff, Hotel Dieu Hospital
Dr. Richard K. Reznick (Co-Chair), Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences and Director, School of Medicine
Mrs. Gail L. Knutson (Secretary), Senior Staffing Officer, Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty, staff, students, residents and all other members of the hospital and university communities are invited to submit their comments, in writing, on the present state and future prospects of the department as well as the names of possible candidates for the headship and the reasons for supporting each nominee. Submissions are to be directed to the co-chairs c/o Gail Knutson, Faculty of Health Sciences, Macklem House, 18 Barrie Street, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, K7L 3N6. Electronic submissions can be forwarded to gail.knutson@queensu.ca

Please note that committee members are required to maintain confidentiality regarding the committee’s deliberations; submissions, which are shared with the committee members, form part of the search process and are also confidential. Anonymous submissions will not be considered.


Renewal, tenure, promotion applications

Under the terms of the collective agreement between Queen’s and Queen’s University Faculty Association for faculty, librarians and archivists, Aug. 15 is the deadline for regular faculty to apply for renewal, tenure or promotion; librarians and archivists to apply for renewal, continuing appointment or promotion; and adjuncts to apply for promotion. Members must notify their unit head of their intent to apply for renewal, tenure, continuing appointment or promotion by July 1.

Articles that refer to these procedures: Article 24 – Employment Equity; Article 30 – Renewal, Tenure and Promotion for Tenure-Track and Tenured Faculty Members; Article 31 – Renewal, Continuing Appointment and Promotion for Librarian and Archivist Members; Article 32.6 Promotion for Adjunct Members.

Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 4:55 pm EDT, Wed August 27, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.