Department of Physics, Engineering Physics & Astronomy

Department of Physics, Engineering Physics & Astronomy
Department of Physics, Engineering Physics & Astronomy

Our Department

  • Dean Scholars of 2018

    A huge congratulations to an impressive group of fourth year Physics Engineering Students who were all being honoured for being Dean’s Scholars every term of their academic careers at Queen's. In total there were 18 Engineering Physics students being honoured, with 7 able to attend the ceremony.

    In the photo, from L to R: Prof. Dignam, Connor Kapahi, Erin Broatch, Fiona Burns, Dickson Ling, Sebastian Gitt, James Newell, Graeme Daly, Prof. Knobel.

  • Inline Coherent Imaging (ICI) technology co-developed with Prof. james Fraser goes global.

    Dr. Webster, who is a graduate of Queen's Engineering Physics, developed the key Laser Depth Dynamics (LDD) technology called Inline Coherent Imaging (ICI) during his PhD under the supervision of Prof. James Fraser. For more information about the purchase of LDD, please visit Inline Coherent Imaging Goes Global.

    (Image:University Communications Queen's Gazette)

  • Group photo at Prof. Duncan's retirement

    Congratulations on your retirement Prof. Duncan!
    From left to right: Prof. Duncan, Prof. Levison, wife Martha Hill Duncan, and daughter Claire Duncan at the Faculty Club retirement luncheon. For more pictures of the event please visit Prof. Duncan's retirement.

  • Dr. Shastri's featured article in the Optics and Photonics News

    Dr. Shastri will be joining the Department in July 2018 as a new Engineering Physics Faculty member.

    Image credit: Optics and Photonics web site

  • Prof. Noble, Prof. Hughes and CFI collaborators are awarded $4.8 million from Canada Foundation for Innovation

    Congratulations! The first CFI grant, lead by Prof. Noble, will be used to build a next generation detector, PICO 500L, that will search for dark matter, while the second grant, lead by Profs. Hughes and Fraser, will be used to establish the Queen’s Nanophotonics Research Centre, which will explore the behaviour of light and light-matter interactions on the nanometre scale. See full article on Queen's Gazette.
    (Photo credit: Queen's Gazette)

  • Prof. Spekkens shares in the $10 Million in New Research Funding

    Congratulations! Prof. Kristine Spekkens (cross-appointed from the Royal Military College of Canada) is part of a research team that has secured a $10 million CFI Innovation Fund award for the development of a radio astronomy data centre. Click for more details of the story.

    Image Credit: CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) showing the Australian Square Kilometer Array Pathfinder

  • Prof. Stott is sandwiched by 2016 Fall Term TA winner, Matthew McNish and 2017 Winter Term TA winner, Benjamin Tam.

    Malcolm Stott Teaching Awards were announced on Oct 12th. Congratulations to Matthew McNish (2016 Fall Term winner) and Benjamin Tam (2017 Winter Term winner). Please visit TA Award winners for more details.

    (Photo credit: Prof. Marc Dignam)

  • Dr. Schreiner with president of AAPM Dr. Martin in Denver 2017

    Congratulations Dr. Schreiner for being elected a Fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine!

    Please click to see the Press Release.

  • SNOLAB receives $28.8 million in provincial funding

    SNOLAB receives $28.8 million in provincial funding from Minister of Research, Innovation and Science, Reza Moridi (center).

    (Photo credit:Queen's Gazette)

  • Professor Emeritus and Nobel Laureate Art McDonald receiving his Honorary Degree at the June 2017 Convocation

    Professor Emeritus and Nobel Laureate Art McDonald was recognized with an honorary degree at the June 2017 Convocation. Congratulations!

    From left to right: Prof. McDonald, Chancellor Jim Leech and Principal Daniel Woolf. For more information on the ceremony, please visit the Queen's Gazette.
    (Photo credit: Prof. Dignam)

  • Physics professors  honoured for their teaching at the Physics Banquet 2017

    Congratulations (from left to right) Prof. Rau, Prof. Morelli and Prof McLean for your teaching awards at the Physics Banquet 2017 held on Friday, March 24th at the Grizzly Grill.

    For more pictures at the event, please visit Physics Banquet 2017. Photos were all taken by Undergrad student Laura Burchell.

  • Prof. Emeritus and Nobel Laureate Art McDonald signing the Book of Membership at the National Academy of Sciences 2017

    Congratulations to Prof. Emeritus and Nobel Laureate Art McDonald for his induction into the prestigious National Academy of Sciences on April 29th.

    (Photo credit: National Academy of Sciences)

  • Queen's University students at the Hult Prize competition.

    Fourth year Physics student, Iain MacKenzie (left) was sponsored by the Department to participate in the Hult Prize held in Dubai. To read about this year’s focus, his team’s performance and their experience, please read the Hult Prize Sponsorship story.

    (Photo: provided by MacKenzie)

  • Prof. Ryan Martin

    Congratulations Professor Ryan Martin for being one of six Queen's University researchers who received funding for advanced research from CFI (Canada Foundation of Innovation).

    (Photo: Queen's Gazette)

  • Professor Noble in his lab.

    The PICO Collaboration, co-led by Prof. Tony Noble of the Department of Physics, Engineering Physics & Astronomy, have found new exciting results from the operation of the PICO-60 dark matter detector which is a bubble chamber filled with 52kg of C3F8. To read the submitted paper, please visit online at arXiv. (Photo: Queen's Gazette)

  • Celebrating Prof. James Fraser's  3M National Teaching Fellowship

    Celebrating Professor James Fraser's induction to prestigious 3M National Teaching Fellowship. From left to right, Provost Benoit-Antoine Bacon, Director-Centre for Teaching & Learning Peter Wolf, Department Head Marc Dignam, Prof. James Fraser.

    (Photo: Queen's Gazette)

  • Dr. Art McDonald and the SNO Collaboration are co-winners of the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics!

    Congratulations to professor emeritus Arthur McDonald and the entire SNO Collaboration who have been awarded the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics! The $ 3 million prize is shared with four other international experimental collaborations studying neutrino oscillations: The Superkamiokande, Kamland, T2K/K2K and Daya Bay scientific collaborations.

    (Background image: Roy Kaltschmidt from LBL)

  • Dr. Art McDonald is the co-winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize for Physics!

    Congratulations to professor emeritus Arthur McDonald, the co-winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize in physics!

    (Background image: Roy Kaltschmidt from LBL)

The Department of Physics at Queen's University is one of Canada's leading teaching and research institutes in Physics, Engineering Physics and Astronomy. Our faculty include high-profile, world-class physicists who work on cutting edge areas of theoretical, computational, applied and experimental physics.

Our students have the opportunity to engage in international collaboration as well as inter-disciplinary research with other departments at Queen's, and work in state-of-the-art laboratories.