Department of Political Studies


Political Studies

site header
Subscribe to RSS - News

John McGarry Recognized with Distinguished Scholar Award

The department extends congratulations to Professor John McGarry (Queen's Political Studies), who is the joint winner of the 2016 Distinguished Scholar Award from the International Studies Association’s Ethnicity and Migration Studies section, along with co-recipient Brendan O'Leary (University of Pennsylvania). This international award is given to senior scholars who have made an impact in Ethnicity and/or Nationalism and/or Migration studies.

This year's award acknowledges both of the long-term collaborators for their research, both jointly and independently, on the political institutions of divided societies. 

Read more from the Queen's Gazette.



Marin Beck awarded Jean Royce Fellowship

The Department would like to extend congratulations to PhD student, Marin Beck for being awarded the Jean Royce Fellowship, Queen's top award for Queen's women graduates. This fellowship, established in memory of Jean I. Royce, is awarded annually by the Queen's University Alumnae Association to a woman graduate of Queen's University for one year of study and research that contributes to the advancement of knowledge, contributes to society or allows creative expression.

This is the first time that a Political Studies student has won this prestigious award, serving as a testament to Marin's extraordinary achievements during her time at Queen's.


Prof. Goodyear-Grant Receives Pierre Savard Award

The department extends congratulations to Dr. Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant who has been awarded the Pierre Savard Award for her book, Gendered News: Media Coverage and Electoral Politics in Canada. This award from the International Council for Canadian Studies (ICCS) recognizes an exceptional scholarly work that contributes to a better understanding of Canada. More information on this prestigious award can be found at the ICCS website:


Ognen Vangelov, PhD Candidate, earns Vanier Scholarship

Ognen Vangelov, PhD Candidate, Earns Prestigious Vanier Scholarship

The Department offers congratulations to Ognen Vangelov, who is one of six Queen's students awarded the prestigious Vanier Scholarship this year. The Vanier CGS program aims to help Canadian institutions attract and retain highly qualified doctoral researchers across the social sciences and/or humanities, natural sciences and/or engineering and health. Overall, the Vanier Scholarship strives to establish a global status for Canada as a centre for excellence in research higher learning.


2015-2016 Skelton-Clark post-doctoral Fellow

The department is pleased to announce that Jessica Merolli has been appointed as our Skelton-Clark post-doctoral Fellow in Canadian affairs for 2015-16.  Ms Merolli completed her BA in Political Science and Canadian Studies at the University of Toronto and her MA in Political Science at McMaster University, where she is about to defend her Ph.D. thesis.  Her research here at Queen's will be on the naturalization process and its impact on immigrants' perceptions of the host country and their relationship to it; she will focus on the Canadian case.     


Prof. John McGarry, one of two research leaders, earns prestigious medal

Queen’s researchers Guy Narbonne and John McGarry were honoured today by the Royal Society of Canada for contributions to geology and political science, respectively.

Dr. McGarry (Political Studies) is the recipient of the Innis-Gerin Medal for his contribution to the literature of the social sciences. The medal has only been awarded 21 times since its inception in 1967.

See Queen's Gazette for full details.