Department of Political Studies


Political Studies

site header
Subscribe to RSS - News

Jeffrey Simpson recipient of Agnes Benidickson Award

Political Studies alumnus and current Globe and Mail columnist Jeffrey Simpson, Arts’71, LLD’05,is the 2014 recipient of theAgnes Benidickson Award, given by the Ottawa Branch of the Queen’s University Alumni Association. It is the highest honour bestowed by the Ottawa Branch and presented to an individual for distinguished service to the University and Canada.

During his student days, Mr. Simpson was also involved with CFRC and the Debating Club.

Mr. Simpson will receive his award on March 26 at the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa.


The Department of Political Studies Presents The J.A. Corry Lecture

Donald L. Horowitz is the James B. Duke Professor of Law and Political Science Emeritus at Duke University. He is the author of seven books, including The Courts and Social Policy (1977), which won the Louis Brownlow Award of the National Academy of Public Administration, Ethnic Groups in Conflict (1985, 2000); A Democratic South Africa? Constitutional Engineering in a Divided Society (1991), which won the Ralph Bunche Prize of the American Political Science Association, and The Deadly Ethnic Riot (2001). His most recent book is Constitutional Change and Democracy in Indonesia, published in 2013 by Cambridge University Press.


Congratulations to Erin Crandall

Our current Skelton-Clark Fellow, Erin Crandall, has been awarded an FQRSC (Quebec Research Fund for Society and Culture) postdoctoral scholarship for 2013-15, tenable in our Department.  Erin's current research examines the effects of judicial selection systems on the representation of women on the bench in Canada.  

We are very fortunate that this prestigious award will allow Erin to continue her project and give us the benefit of her presence and participation in the Department for the coming two years.  Please join me in congratulating Erin.   


Political Studies graduate joins forces and launches law firm

Toronto, ON  --  When the Canadian economy sheds jobs – and it did in March as 54,500 full time positions disappeared – there’s not enough focus on the impact this has on employees and employers. 

That’s according to employment lawyers Natalie MacDonald and Stuart Rudner, founders of the newly launched Rudner MacDonald LLP, a law firm specializing in employment law.



Sara Pavan, PhD candidate

For only the third time, a Queen’s University student has been honoured with a Trudeau Scholarship. Doctoral student Sara Pavan (Political Studies) was one of just 14 individuals across Canada to receive the scholarship this year.

“As an international student (from Italy), I am very grateful for the confidence that the Trudeau foundation has in me,” says Ms. Pavan. “The award gives you the opportunity to conduct even more ambitious research. It really changes your perspective about what you can achieve and how you can afford to go ahead with it. It also provides a chance to get to know a network of very interesting people—such as academics, journalists and policy makers.”  Read here for full story.


Political Studies professor appointed President of the ASN

Professor Zsuzsa Csergő is the new President of the Association for the Study of Nationalities (ASN).  She will serve in this capacity for three years, beginning on April 21, 2013.  

ASN is the leading international academic association in nationalism and ethnicity studies, and the only scholarly association focusing on the study of ethnicity and nationalism from Europe to Eurasia.  The ASN's annual world convention takes place every year in the spring at Columbia University, New York.  The 41st annual convention, which was held from April 18-21, 2013, included the highest ratio of international participants of academic conventions based in North America.  The convention included nearly 700 participants, and the program featured 150 panels on research related to nationalism and ethnicity--with over 400 scholars from 50 countries delivering papers; the screening of new documentary films; and expert panels on significant current events related to conflicts associated with nation-building, and ethnocultural and religious diversity.


2013 Dublin International Summer Research Institute

A number of Queen’s doctoral students and faculty participated recently in a two week long International Summer Research Institute on “Diversity and Democracy”, hosted at University College, Dublin (June 3-14).   The Institute brought together  experts on nationalism and ethnicity from around the world, and students from Queen’s,  UQAM, and throughout Europe.

Among the Queen’s students attending were Meghan Laws, Sarah Pavan, Beesan Sarrouh, Charan Rainford, Philippe Roseberry – all from the Department of Political Studies; and Josephine Nielsen from the Department of Philosophy.  Queen’s faculty participating were John McGarry and Zsuzsa Csergo, both from the Department of Political Studies.

Apart from lots of intense work, the group managed to experience some of the fine restaurants and pubs of Dublin.  There was even time for a weekend trip to Belfast, and a tour of its conflict zones as well as the Republican plot at Belfast’s Milltown Cemetery.

The International Summer Research Institute is a joint initiative of Queen’s University and UQAM.  It was funded by research funds from Professor Alain Gagnon (UQAM) and Professors Banting, Kymlicka and McGarry (all of Queen’s).  The institute was also sponsored by the Trudeau Foundation, the CSDD (Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity, Queen’s U.),  CRIDAQ  (Interdisciplinary Centre of Research on Diversity and Democracy), CREQC (a research unit based at UQAM in Montréal), and RECODE (see

For details of the program, see Dublin Institute Programme.


Professor John McGarry earns one of Canada's top academic honours

Queen’s University professor John McGarry (Political Studies) has won one of five Canada Council Killam Prizes for his research on power-sharing and conflict resolution. The $100,000 Killam Prizes are one of Canada’s most distinguished awards for outstanding career achievements in health sciences, engineering, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences. Dr. McGarry won the prize in the Social Sciences.

“This is a great honour for me,” says Dr. McGarry, who was born and raised in Northern Ireland. “I think there are many very gifted social scientists in our country, any one of whom could have received this prize, and I feel tremendously fortunate that it has fallen my way.” Read here for full story.


Dr. John McGarry has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal

Dr. John McGarry has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal by the Royal Society of Canada.  This prestigious award recognizes significant contributions to scholarship, arts and science, as well as service rendered to one's peers and one's community.  It was created in 2012 to mark the Queen's Diamond Jubilee, and John is among a select group of 28 recipients chosen by the Royal Society.


2012-2013 Christopher Knapper Award

Leanne Roderick was awarded the Christopher Knapper award for teaching assistants for 2012-13 on the evening of Tuesday March 26, 2013.  This University-wide award is given by the AMS (Alma Mater Society) to recognize outstanding Teaching Assistants (TAs).  

Congratulations are also due to Kyle Jackson, Rachael Johnstone, Aaron Ettinger, and Korey Pasch, who were nominated for the award.  Our department received more nominations than any other for this award.  This is an indication of the high quality of the work of our TAs and their commitment to undergraduate education.