Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor

[Principal and Vice Chancellor]
[Principal and Vice Chancellor]

Undergraduate Orientation Review Working Group

Principal Daniel Woolf announced the formation of a working group to conduct a review of undergraduate orientation. The review will seek ways of making undergraduate orientation more welcoming and inclusive for all members of the Queen’s community.

The Undergraduate Orientation Review Working Group, chaired by Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion) Teri Shearer, is mandated to examine all aspects of Queen’s direct-entry undergraduate student orientation experience, including university orientation and the student society orientation activities. The working group will consult with the Queen’s community, look to best practices at other institutions, and articulate a vision for orientation that achieves shared goals around community building, inclusivity, safety, accessibility and responsibility. The Task Force will report back to Principal Woolf with their comprehensive recommendations no later than March 2018.

Terms of Reference (.DOC 100 KB)



The Working Group has developed the following questions to provide the community with an idea of the type of information it is hoping to get from stakeholders:

  • What do you believe is the most important thing Queen’s should do to create a welcoming and inclusive orientation for new undergraduate students?
  • In what ways is Queen’s orientation inclusive and accessible for those of different abilities, races, gender and gender identities, religion, sexes and sexual identities, and/or socio-economic statuses? In what ways can we do better?
  • Ideally, how should orientation prepare new undergraduate students for their time at Queen’s, both academic and non-academic?

Any individual, club, group, or unit may submit feedback to the Working Group.

Feedback Methods

Consultation methods include:

  • attending one of the Working Group’s meetings
  • inviting the Working Group to one of your meetings
  • requesting a one-on-one meeting with a member of the Working Group
  • attending one of the Working Group’s town halls
  • sending a submission for the Group to consider
  • emailing the Group at

Any individual, club, group, or unit may submit feedback to the Working Group. Please do not hesitate to reach out to the Working Group. All feedback is welcome and appreciated.

University-Wide Town Halls

Two town halls were held in November at which students,faculty, and staff members provided their feedback on orientation.

Consultations Underway

Since forming this Working Group in August, members have been organizing consultation sessions with students, governance bodies, equity seeking groups, and any others who wish to contribute. As of November 2017, there are twelve such sessions planned or completed. We are working with all key campus stakeholders to ensure broad feedback and consultation regarding changes to Undergraduate Orientation.

News and Updates


Membership as defined by Terms of Reference

  • Deputy Provost – Chair
  • AMS President, or designate
  • Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs, or designate
  • One faculty or staff representative from each of the following undergraduate programs as follows:
    • Dean of Arts & Science, or designate
    • Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, or designate
    • Dean of the Faculty of Education, or designate
    • Director of the School of Nursing, or designate
    • Executive Director of the Commerce Program, or designate
    • Director of the School of Computing, or designate
    • Director of the School of Kinesiology, or designate
  • One student representative from, and selected by the Presidents of, the undergraduate society of each of the following undergraduate programs:
    • Arts and Science
    • Engineering and Applied Science
    • Concurrent Education
    • Nursing
    • Commerce
    • Computing
    • Kinesiology
  • AMS Social Issues Commissioner
  • Manager, Student Experience Office

Advisory members (non-voting)

  • Director of the Human Rights Office, or designate
  • Director of Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre, or designate
  • Director of Queen’s University International Centre, or designate
  • President, Queen’s University Alumni Association
  • one member of University Council

Support (non-voting)

  • Associate Secretary of the University
  • Director of Communications, or designate

At the discretion of the Working Group, non-voting advisory members may be added to provide expertise in regards to operational issues.



Teri Shearer (Chair)

Deputy Provost (Academic Operations & Inclusion)

Brandon Jamieson Student Co-Chair, Senate Activities Orientation Review Board
Bittu George Non-Student Co-Chair, Senate Activities Orientation Review Board

Nicky Andbinder

Vice President of Operations, Physical Health Education & Kinesiology Student Association 

Sue Bates

President, Queen’s University Alumni Association

Johanne Bénard

Associate Dean (Admission & Recruitment) and Associate Dean (Studies), Faculty of Arts & Science

Peter Chin

Associate Dean, Faculty of Education

Yvonne Cooper

Director of Communications

Robin Dawes

Associate Professor, School of Computing

Kevin Deluzio

Dean, Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science

Liam Dowling

President, Concurrent Education Students’ Association

Emlyn Folkes

President, Commerce Society

Keltie Gale

University Council

Lori Garnier

Executive Director, Commerce Program

Jyoti Kotecha

Director, Queen’s University International Centre

Jasmine Lagundzija

President, Arts & Science Undergraduate Society

Jennifer Li

AMS President

Vanessa McCourt

Aboriginal Advisor, Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre

Jennifer Medves

Vice-Dean (Health Sciences), Director of the School of Nursing

Alexandra Palmeri

President, Nursing Science

Heidi Penning

Equity Advisor, Equity Office

Ramna Safeer

AMS Social Issues Commissioner

Ann Tierney

Vice-Provost & Dean of Student Affairs

Alex Wojaczek

President, Computing Students' Association

Nathaniel Wong

President, Engineering Society

Woo Kim

Manager, Student Experience Office

Anna van der Meulen

Department Manager, School of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Support: Rebecca Coupland

Director & Associate Secretary, University Secretariat.