Department of Psychology

Department of

Psychology

Department of

Psychology

site header

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Psychology 501 Information for 2018-19

It's time to apply for PSYC 501! Please note the following deadlines:

  • Deadline for students to submit applications -- Friday, March 9th, 2018
  • Deadline for students to submit rankings -- Friday, March 30th, 2018
  • Matching decisions announced -- Late-April, 2018
  • Thesis eligibility confirmed-- Late-May, 2018

Minimum Criteria:

  • The completion of PSYC 302/3.0 (or PSYC 300/6.0) by April 2018 with a minimum grade of C+ [unless you participated in exchange during the 2017-18 academic year];
  • A minimum GPA of 2.60 between PSYC 202/3.0, PSYC 203/3.0, PSYC 301/3.0, and PSYC 302/3.0 (or PSYC 300/6.0);
  • A minimum PSYC GPA (not including Supporting Science or PSYC_Subs credits) of 3.30 (equivalent to a B+), following submission of winter term grades.

NOTE: Students must have a minimum PSYC GPA of 3.00 ("B" average) at the time of application. Students with a GPA below this threshold will be advised of their ineligibility.

Please make use of the ASC "GPA Calculator" to see if it is likely that you will meet the GPA requirements by the end of the winter term.

Please note that not all students who meet the minimum criteria will be accepted into the thesis option.  Because PSYC 501/9.0 is an intensive course of study, involving a significant amount of commitment from both the student and their Faculty supervisor, we can only accept a limited number of students. Acceptance is based primarily on (1) academic performance in Psychology courses, and (2) match in research interests with a potential supervisor.

Application Steps
  1. If you are interested in completing a thesis, please complete the PSYC 501 application form (PDF, 75 KB).  
  2. Identify Faculty members with whom you would like to work. An approved 501 Faculty Listing for 2018-2019 is listed in the 501 Supervisor List below. [Note: ONLY faculty members listed here can serve as a 501 supervisor.] Look at their websites. Download and skim their papers to find out more about their research area. We ask you to identify at least six potential supervisors whose research you are interested in. That might seem like a lot, but see point 6. Send the six faculty you have selected your application.
  3. By Friday, March 9th you should have submitted the application form to each and every Faculty member with whom you are interested in working with. Send it also to Allison Leverette, Academic Advisor, at ug.psyc@queensu.ca, for her records.
  4. Over the next couple of weeks, Faculty members to whom you applied, may contact you for an interview.  By April 3rd, Faculty members will advise next year’s PSYC 501 Coordinators of the students they are prepared to take.
  5. By Friday, March 30th, you should have a list of potential supervisors, and be comfortable listing them in order of preference with the one you would most like to work with numbered 1. Fill out the PSYC 501 supervisor ranking form (PDF, 85 KB). This should be done after you have met with potential supervisors, and MUST be submitted no later than March 30th. This form is sent to Katherine Rudder, at ug.psyc@queensu.ca ONLY.
  6. Between March 30th and the end of April, the matches will be generated. After Faculty have noted who they are prepared to take, your preference (i.e. the order in which you ranked potential supervisors on the supervisor ranking form) is the primary consideration in assigning students to supervisors – we will do the best we can to match you with a thesis supervisor as far up your list as possible. Some research areas are much more popular than others, however, and no one can supervise more than three thesis students. Many people will not get their top choice, or maybe even their second or third choice, depending on who they have listed. It is in your interest to check out potential supervisors from a few different areas. We will never assign you to someone that you haven’t listed on your application – if a match isn’t possible given the list you’ve submitted, you will be contacted by the Undergraduate office, who will work with you to find an acceptable match.
  7. You will hear sometime at the end of April who your thesis supervisor will be, via e-mail. Note that this does not guarantee that you are eligible to take PSYC 501.  Eligibility will be determined by the Undergraduate office, and communicated to you via email in late May.
  8. If you have any questions, please contact either the undergraduate office at ug.psyc@queensu.ca or one of the PSYC 501 Coordinators, Li-Jun Ji at lijunji@queensu.ca or Monica Castelhano at monica.castelhano@queensu.ca.
501 Supervisor List

Only the following Faculty members are accepting applications for honour thesis (501) students: Please follow up with them directly via email with your application form, resume, and unofficial transcript (includes ALL courses, in PDF format) to apply.

Faculty Member:

Email:

More Information:

Christopher Bowie christopher.bowie@queensu.ca More Information
Monica Castelhano monica.castelhano@queensu.ca More Information
Meredith Chivers chiversm@queensu.ca More Information
Cynthia Fekken fekkenc@queensu.ca More Information
Stanka Fitneva fitneva@queensu.ca More Information
Randy Flanagan flanagan@queensu.ca More Information
Jason Gallivan gallivan@queensu.ca More Information
Kate Harkness harkness@queensu.ca More Information
Ronald Holden holdenr@queensu.ca More information
Tom Hollenstein tom.hollenstein@queensu.ca More Information
Jill Jacobson jacobsoj@queensu.ca More Information
Li-Jun Ji lijunji@queensu.ca More Information
Elizabeth Kelley kelleyb@queensu.ca More Information
Val Kuhlmeier vk4@queensu.ca More Information
Janet Menard menard@queensu.ca More Information
Kevin Munhall kevin.munhall@queensu.ca More Information
Mary Cella Olmstead olmstead@queensu.ca More Information
Jordan Poppenk jpoppenk@queensu.ca More Information
Caroline Pukall caroline.pukall@queensu.ca More Information
Mark Sabbagh sabbagh@queensu.ca More Information
Dean Tripp dean.tripp@queensu.ca More Information
Niko Troje troje@queensu.ca More Information
Daryl Wilson daryl.wilson@queensu.ca More Information
Centre for Neuroscience:    
Gunnar Blohm blohmg@queensu.ca More Information
New Faculty:    
Sari van Anders smva@umich.edu More Information (PDF, 175 KB)
David Hauser davidhau@usc.edu More Information (PDF, 175 KB)
Luis Flores floresle@pitt.edu More Information (PDF, 176 KB)
Tim Salomons  t.v.salomons@reading.ac.uk More Information (PDF, 181 KB)
Jeremy Stewart jstewart@mclean.harvard.edu More Information (PDF, 181 KB)