Student Affairs


site header

Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching

2014 Baillie Award winner with nominator

Graduating students: Did you have a teacher in high school who really helped you find your path to Queen's?


The Baillie Awards for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching were established by Chancellor Emeritus A. Charles Baillie.

These awards give undergraduate students in their graduating year from Queen’s University the opportunity to honour educators in Canada who, during the student’s high school career, had a decisive and formative influence on the student, and set them on the course to post-secondary education and ultimately to their graduation from Queen's.

These awards recognize an exceptional teacher who has served as a role model and mentor to their students, instilled a love of learning, and inspired academic excellence and the pursuit of higher education.

Up to five awards will be given annually.

Teacher-recipients will each receive $5,000 and will be invited to campus to receive their award at their student nominee's convocation ceremony. Travel-related expenses for teacher-recipients, up to $1,500, may be reimbursed.

The nomination period for the 2015 Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching is now closed. Thank you for your submissions. Only those that have been selected will be contacted. 

Download the nomination form, fill it out and send it in!

Completed nomination forms should be submitted via email to the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs at vpdean.sa@queensu.ca 

Recipients will be chosen by a selection committee. Students with successful nominations will be notified by email in late March-early April. 

If you have any questions about the awards or the nomination process, please email vpdean.sa@queensu.ca  

Past recipients

Read about the 2014 recipients 

Read about the 2013 recipients

Read about the 2012 recipients

Check out the recipients from 2006-2012 (PDF, 394KB)