Office of the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs

Queen's University
Search Type


Student Affairs

site header

Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching

2015 Baillie Award Recipient with Principal Woolf, Queen's Chancellor Steven Liss & Queen's Rector Mike Young

Congratulations to the 2016 Recipients!

  • Kevin Donkers, Physics and Math teacher and sports coach, Preston High School, Cambridge, Ontario, nominated by Marcus Threndyle (Sc'16);
  • Susan Gaines, English teacher, Eastdale Secondary School, Welland, ON, and formerly Stamford Collegiate, Niagara Fall, ON, nominated by Joelle Schonberg (Artsci'16); 
  • Stacey McDonald, English and History teacher, R.H. King Academy, Toronto, ON, and formerly Western Technical Commercial School, Toronto, ON, nominated by Braelyn Chen (Sc'16); and
  • Elizabeth Pattison, Mathematics teacher and instructional coach, District School Board of Niagara, and formerly Grimsby Secondary School, Grimsby, ON, nominated by Nadia Credico (Com'16).


Graduating students: Did you have a teacher in high school who really helped you find your path to Queen's?

The Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching was established by Chancellor Emeritus A. Charles Baillie.

These awards give undergraduate students in their graduating year from Queen’s University the opportunity to honour educators in Canada who, during the student’s high school career, had a decisive and formative influence on the student, and set them on the course to post-secondary education and ultimately to their graduation from Queen's.

These awards recognize an exceptional teacher who has served as a role model and mentor to their students, instilled a love of learning, and inspired academic excellence and the pursuit of higher education. Up to five awards will be given annually.

Teacher-recipients will each receive $10,000 and will be invited to campus to receive their award at their student nominee's convocation ceremony. Travel-related expenses for teacher-recipients, up to $1,500, may be reimbursed.

Nominations for the 2017 awards will open in January 2017.
To nominate a former teacher, download the nomination form, fill it out and send it in!

Completed nomination forms should be submitted via email to the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs at 

Recipients will be chosen by a selection committee. Students with successful nominations will be notified by email in late March-early April 2017. 

If you have any questions about the awards or the nomination process, please email  

Past recipients

Read about the 2016 recipients

Read about the 2015 recipients

Read about the 2014 recipients 

Read about the 2013 recipients

Read about the 2012 recipients

Check out the recipients from 2006-2012 (PDF, 394KB)