Student Affairs


site header

Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Working Group

The Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Working Group is a network of students, faculty and staff convened to mobilize efforts to prevent and respond to sexual assault on campus. The working group is advisory to the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs and will work collaboratively to effect change at the individual and cultural levels, thereby contributing to a safer campus environment for Queen’s students.   


  • Provide a forum to discuss emerging issues and initiatives related to sexual assault;
  • Collect local and nation-wide information to understand campus context and develop practices;
  • Improve communication and information-sharing among campus partners and allies;
  • Inventory and suggest enhancements to policies, programs, services and resources; and
  • Develop and implement campus-wide initiatives to support prevention and response.

Membership 2014-2015

Arig Girgrah, Assistant Dean Student Affairs, Student Life and Learning (Chair)
Meredith Chivers, Professor and Director of SAGE lab, Department of Psychology 
Margot Coulter, Sexual Harassment Prevention Coordinator, Human Rights Office 
Fatima Couto,  Clinic Manager, Student Health Services, HCDS
Christine Grossutti, Graduate Student at large
Kate Humphrys, Health Promotion Coordinator, Health, Counselling and Disability Services (HCDS)
Chauncey Kennedy, Director, Residence Life   
Ashley Ratcliffe, Levana Centre representative
Nadia Sawaya Fehr, Outreach Counsellor,  Residence Life 
Doulton Wiltshire, Director, Sexual Health Resource Centre
Emily Wong,  Social Issues Commissioner, Alma Mater Society 
TBA, Equity Commissioner, Society of Graduate and Professional Students 


Since its establishment in July 2013 the working group has met regularly and:

  • Developed a mandate and terms of references, and established a core membership of faculty, staff, and students. Membership has grown in response to identified needs;
  • Recognized the need to approach sexual assault using a socio-ecological framework, i.e., an institutional wide effort from administration, faculty/staff, students and a multi-level focus on programs that aim to raise awareness, prevent incidents of assault, educate, provide support services and resources for survivors, develop and implement policies and protocols to respond to incidents/allegations, and undertake ongoing assessment and evaluation;
  • Developed a draft inventory of existing resources, programs, protocols and policies, identifying gaps that would inform recommendations for new and/or enhanced interventions and initiatives;
  • Applied for and secured funding from the Women’s Campus Safety Fund to pilot a joint Student Affairs and Sexual Health Resource Centre peer-led co-curricular educational program using the Bringing in the Bystander curriculum designed by the University of New Hampshire;
  • Endorsed a successful proposal to the Student Affairs Balkwill Fund to support a pilot Psycho-Educational Group for Survivors of Sexual Assault (PEGaSUS), which is currently running and co-facilitated by the Outreach Counsellor/Student Life Advisor (JDUC) and a Residence Outreach Counsellor;
  • Created a forum for faculty, staff, and students with mandates to educate on/respond to sexual assault to share, discuss and collaborate on interventions and initiatives.


Developing a Response to Sexual Violence: A Resource Guide for Ontario’s Colleges and Universities,
Ontario Women's Directorate, Government of Ontario 

On-campus and community resources and services that respond to sexual assault, abuse and harassment 

What to do if you are sexually assaulted, HCDS, Queen's University, 2014 (500KB)

Report on policies, procedures and support programs in place to address incidents of sexual assault at Queen's, University Counsel, August 2014 (PDF, 948KB) 

Operations and Accountability

  • Collaboration between Residence Life and SHRC on "Consent and Masculinities" workshops in Residences;
  • Creation of a communication tool to explain the role of the Human Rights Office in relation to sexual assault;
  • Collaboration between Student Affairs and SHRC to bring the Executive Director of the White Ribbon Campaign to campus for a public lecture and masculinities workshop; 
  • Leveraging networks to engage students in “Unblurred Lines” event (Nov 2014) and other Queen’s/Community events on the subject of gender-based violence.
  • Begun work to research sexual assault policies at other universities to develop a specific Queen’s University Policy on Sexual Assault, as well as collateral procedures, protocols, and resources to ensure that information is central, visible and accessible to students.