Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Automatic Awards Open to All Upper Year Students

The following awards have been made available thanks to the generosity of Queen's donors.    

Students currently registered at Queen's will be automatically considered for the following awards.  Most of these awards are based on academics.

AMS Accessibility Queen's Bursary

Established in September 2007 by the Alma Mater Society Accessibility Queen's and awarded on the basis of financial need to students with disabilities who are registered with Queen's Disability Services, and who are not eligible for funding through the OSAP Bursary for Students with Disabilities. The bursary will help with the costs associated with adaptive technology, transportation costs, etc., as recommended by Disability Services. Students may be referred to the Student Awards Office by Disability Services or apply directly through Student Awards, in which case Student Awards would consult with Disability Services.

Senator Frank Carrel Upper Year Scholarships

The Senator Frank Carrel Scholarships have been established at Queen's University through the generosity of the late Senator Frank Carrel, noted publisher, executive and author who represented the Gulf Division in the Legislative Council of the Province of Quebec for many years prior to his death in 1940. Candidates for Carrel Scholarships must for at least one year prior to their application for admission to Queen's University (or for at least one year prior to 30 April if enrolled in an upper year) have been and remain until the expiry of their scholarship domiciled in the Province of Quebec and as far as possible in the City or County of Quebec or in the Gulf Region of the Legislative Council of Quebec as constituted at 30 July, 1940, (including Rimouski, Bonaventure, Gaspe-est, Gaste-ouest and Iles de la Madeleine). Several scholarships are awarded annually for general proficiency in the work of the previous year. All eligible candidates will be considered automatically.

Lilian Coleman Taylor Prize

Awarded annually to the outstanding woman student from Leeds County registered in any faculty of Queen's University.

F. M. Gauchie Award

awarded on the recommendation of the manager of the Campus Bookstore in consultation with the Chairman of the Fund Management Committee, to the student who, in their opinion, has made the most significant contribution during that year to the Campus Bookstore's ability to serve the campus.

Stewart Langdon Memorial Award

Established in memory of Stewart Langdon, athletic trainer at Queen's University from 1945-1966, by his friends and associates. Awarded annually upon the recommendation of the University Council on Athletics to a student in any faculty who has completed at least one year at Queen's with satisfactory academic standing and who has made a special contribution to athletic training at Queen's or who has demonstrated specific plans to continue study in the field of athletic training.


A medal is awarded annually by the University to the candidate who has demonstrated academic excellence in an honours degree who is deemed by a Department to have achieved the highest standing in a plan offered by that Department.   Departments within the Faculty of Arts and Science will consider students in a major, medial or specialization plan offered by that Department.  Normally, a Department may nominate only one candidate for a medal.

Ottawa Ladies' College Excellence Scholarship

Ottawa Ladies' College was incorporated by Statute of the Province of Ontario in 1869 at the request of the citizens of Ottawa 'for the purpose of establishing and conducting a seminary of learning of a collegiate character for the education of female youth'. Its first president was E.B. Eddy, and secretary, the Reverend William Moore. Its building was expropriated for war purposes in 1942 and it then ceased to function for the specific purpose for which it was incorporated. In order that it might use its assets for wider educational purposes its Act of Incorporation was amended in 1948 and it has now transferred its funds in trust to Carleton University, Ottawa, and Queen's University at Kingston. Five scholarships are awarded each year on the basis of general proficiency to undergraduate lady students from the Ottawa secondary schools, without restriction to year of attendance at Queen's.

Ottawa Women's Canadian Club Scholarship

Awarded annually at the end of the third year to a student who will enter the fourth year of an undergraduate program and who has taken at least five courses of substantial Canadian content during the first three years.

Prince of Wales Prizes

Established by the Prince of Wales in the 1860's and awarded to the two students graduating with honours B.A. and honours B.Sc. degrees respectively, who are judged to have the best academic records at Queen's. The runners-up in each program are also recognized; scrolls.

Back to top

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000