University Animal Care Committee

University Animal Care Committee

site header

To endorse standardization practices on our campus, the UACC and the Office of the University Veterinarian have decided to offer rodent workshops on pre-scheduled days. We feel that this refinement supports CCAC’s values with respect to the 3 R’s. This will ease scheduling conflicts within the surgical suites. Please see the dates below and contact the Training Coordinator (uvet.compliance@queensu.ca) to enroll any students you have that may require training workshops. Students are welcome to contact me directly. These are not drop-in sessions.

Workshop #1: Handling and Routine Procedures

Mouse

Wednesday September 6, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Wednesday September 20, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Wednesday September 27, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Tuesday October 17, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Tuesday October 24, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Thursday November 9, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Mouse

Tuesday November 14, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Flex Thursday November 30, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse Tuesday December 12, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

 

Workshop #2: Technical Procedures

Mouse

Friday September 8, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Friday September 22, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Thursday September 28, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Wednesday October 18, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Wednesday October 25, 2017

9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Friday November 10, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Wednesday November 15, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Flex

Friday December 1, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Mouse

Wednesday December 13, 2017 9:30  a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

We recognize that the commencement of Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer Terms are when we see a large influx of new students who require the hands-on workshops. We will continue to work with students and labs during those times to offer flexible workshop dates which will accommodate all affiliations of lab members (undergraduates–PDF’s), HOWEVER students are encouraged to do their best to attend during one of the scheduled times. Please contact the Training Coordinator (uvet.compliance@queensu.ca) for scheduling during these times if conflicts with the schedule cannot be avoided.

Please note the addition of Flex Workshops. This allows flexibility of the species handled on those days. If numbers support mouse training, we will work with mice; alternatively, if numbers support rat training, rats will be handled on those dates.

Please do continue to communicate your needs (PI’s, lab managers, technicians and students) with the Training Coordinator. We are here to assist the research community, and we look forward to working with new lab members.

**Surgical Workshops continue to be held on an as-needed basis (please contact the Training Coordinator (uvet.compliance@queensu.ca ).

**Any additional training  is still offered on an as-needed basis (please contact the Training Coordinator (uvet.compliance@queensu.ca ).