Aboriginal Council of Queen's University

Aboriginal Council of

Queen's University

site header

ACQU Membership (2017-18)


Aboriginal Community Representatives

Dwight Bero Jr.  Post-Secondary Manager, Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education 
Marlene Brant Castellano     Elder, Council Co-Chair
Dan Brant    Tyendinaga Mohawk Council
Carol Ann Budd Aboriginal Alumna at large     
Laurel Claus-Johnson Katarowki Grandmother’s Council
Catherine Graham  National Association of Friendship Centres 
​Adam Hopkins   VP Enrollment Management and Student Services, First Nations Technical Institute, Tyendinaga
Elaine Jeffery        Metis Nation of Ontario
Mireille Lapointe  Ardoch Algonquin First Nation
Jason LeBlanc  Executive Director, Tungasvvingat Inuit
Stephanie Roy   ATEP Manitoulin/North Shore Program Management Committee Chair - Official Observer


Queen's University Community Representatives

Benoit-Antoine Bacon        Provost and V-P Academic (Principal's delegate) 
Leslie Flynn Vice Dean, Education (Faculty of Health Sciences)
Janice Hill   Director, Office of Indigenous Initiatives, Council Secretary - ex-officio
Melanie Howard    Director, Aboriginal Access to Engineering
Lindsay Morcom Coordinator, Aboriginal Teacher Education Program, Faculty of Education 
Armand Ruffo    Faculty member at large, Queen's National Scholar, Indigenous Literatures and Languages
Jill Scott   Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning
Teri Shearer Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion)
Gordon Smith  Vice Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
Ann Tierney  Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs (Provost's delegate), Acting Council Co-Chair
Daniel Woolf  Principal 


Queen's University Student Representatives   

Shannon Halley Education Students' Society/Aboriginal Teacher Education Program 
Sara Hanson and Tara Wilson Co-Presidents, Queen's Native Students Association
Billie Kearns American Indian Science and Engineering Society, Queen's Chapter
Natasha Stirrett Society of Graduate and Professional Students/Supporting Aboriginal Graduate Enhancement (SAGE)