The Diane McKenzie Bursary

Dr. Jean Hill, honoured by Diane McKenzie, B.N.Sc. 1964, MPA 1992, was the first Dean appointed for Queen's School of Nursing. From 1941 to 1968, a five-year non-integrated nursing program existed, in which the university assumed responsibility for the basic academic courses, while the majority of the basic nursing education took place in hospitals outside of Queen's academic jurisdiction. Dr Hill implemented our present four-year integrated model, providing nursing students the opportunity to apply skills of independent thinking and critical analysis to issues affecting nursing practice.