Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity

Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity
Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity

Centre Personnel 

Director

Margaret MooreMargaret Moore
Professor
Department of Political Studies
moorem@queensu.ca

Current Projects:
Corrective Justice and Land
Indigenous Land Rights and Reconciliation?

Centre Administrator

Emma ClarkeEmma Clarke
Communications and Research Coordinator
Department of Political Studies
emma.clarke@queensu.ca

 

 

Centre Fellows

Sharry AikenSharry Aiken
Associate Professor
Faculty of Law, Queen's University
aiken@queensu.ca

 

 

George Anderson, Advisor | UN

George Anderson
Consultant
United Nations
andersg@queensu.ca

 

 

Bruce Berman

Bruce Berman
Professor Emeritus
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
bermanb@queensu.ca

 

 

Kathy BrockKathy Brock
Professor
Department of Policy Studies, Queen's University
kathy.brock@queensu.ca

 

 

Poulomi Chakrabarti

Poulomi Chakrabarti
Lecturer
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
pdc@queensu..ca

 

 

Stephanie Chouinard | RMCStéphanie Chouinard
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Sciences, Royal Military College (Kingston)
stephanie.chouinard@rmc.ca

 

 

Zsuzsa CsergoZsuzsa Csergo
Associate Professor & Department Head
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
csergo@queensu.ca

 

Colin FarrellyColin Farrelly
Professor
Queen's National Scholar
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
farrelly@queensu.ca

 

 

Andrew Grant J. Andrew Grant
Associate Professor 
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
andrew.grant@queensu.ca

 

 

David G. Haglund | Political StudiesDavid Haglund
Professor
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
david.haglund@queensu.ca

 

 

Oded Haklai | Political StudiesOded Haklai
Associate Professor
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
haklai@queensu.ca

 

 

 

Stephen LarinStephen Larin
Research Fellow 
Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity
stephen.larin@queensu.ca

 

 

Andrew Lister | Political StudiesAndrew Lister
Associate Professor
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University 
andrew.lister@queensu.ca

 

 

 

Sara PavanSara Pavan
Killam Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia
sara.pavan@queensu.ca

 

 

Jonathan Rose | Political StudiesJonathan Rose
Associate Professor
Department of Political Studies, Queen's University 
jonathan.rose@queensu.ca

 

 

Beesan SarrouhBeesan Sarrouh
Visiting Researcher
School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Toronto
beesan.sarrouh@queensu.ca

 

 

Christine Sypnowich | PhilosophyChristine Sypnowich
Professor & Department Head
Department of Philosophy, Queen's University
christine.sypnowich@queensu.ca

 

 

Gregory WhitfieldGregory Whitfield
Junior Research Fellow
Institute of Advanced Studies, University College London
g.whitfield@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Marie-Joelle Zahar | Université de MontréalMarie-Joelle Zahar
Scientific Director
Réseau de recherche sur les opérations de paix, CÉRIUM
marie-joelle.zahar@umontreal.ca

 

Current Projects:

  • Beyond Democratic Symbolism: elections as a tool of conflict-management in war-to-peace transitions, Université de Montréal
Emerging Scholars

Dalal Daoud | Political StudiesDalal Daoud
Doctoral Candidate
dalal.daoud@queensu.ca

 

 

Maria Krause | Political StudiesMaria Krause
Doctoral Candidate
maria.krause@queensu.ca​

 

 

Jeremy Ladd
Doctoral Candidate
j.ladd@queensu.ca

 

 

Meghan Laws, Emerging ScholarMeghan Laws
Doctoral Candidate
8mcl6@queensu.ca

 

 

Alexandra LiebichAlexandra Liebich
Doctoral Candidate
alexandra.liebich@queensu.ca

 

 

Dilan Okcuoglu | Political StudiesDilan Okcuoglu
Doctoral Candidate
8do@queensu.ca

Charan Rainford | Political StudiesCharan Rainford
Doctoral Candidate
charan.rainford@queensu.ca

 

 

Jacob Kanter | Political StudiesJacob Robbins-Kanter
Doctoral Candidate
j.robbins-kanter@queensu.ca

 

 

Philippe Roseberry | Political StudiesPhilippe Roseberry
Doctoral Candidate
philippe.roseberry@queensu.ca

 

 

Olga Talal
Doctoral Candidate
olga.talal@queensu.ca

 

 

Samantha Twietmeyer | Political StudiesSamantha Twietmeyer
Doctoral Candidate
sam.twietmeyer@queensu.ca

 

 

Rebecca Wallace | Political StudiesRebecca Wallace
Doctoral Candidate
r.wallace@queensu.ca

Post-Doctoral Fellows & Visiting Researchers

Lev Marder, SSHRC Post-Doctoral FellowLev Marder
Social Science and Humanities Research Council Post-Doctoral Fellow: 2018/10 - 2019/10
lm190@queensu.ca

Lev Marder holds a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Philosophy Department and Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity, working under the supervision of Will Kymlicka. Lev received his Ph.D. in political science from the University of California-Irvine. His broad areas of expertise include political theory, history of political thought, law and politics, international relations, and theories of representation. His research focuses on mapping the historical and contemporary political uses of ignorance and asks if practices of ignorance can help maintain political order, democratic politics, international relations, and serve other desirable objectives. How has the enforcement of ignorance of certain differences between individuals and groups in the past and the present time engendered a sense of community, un/equal opportunities, and affected the ability of some to rule over others? His research on the production and uses of ignorance appears in the Routledge International Handbook of Ignorance Studies, Philosophy and Social Criticism, Journal of International Political Theory, and Constellations. During his 2018-2020 Fellowship, Lev will examine how democratic regimes incorporate practices of ignorance. The objective is to formulate recommendations for cultivating ignorance conducive to democratic decision-making, political participation, and protection of minority rights and vulnerable groups.


Duygu Ozluk
Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey Post-Doctoral Fellow: 2018/10 - 2019/10
do22@queensu.ca

Project:
Democracy Promotion: Canada’s Contributions and Prospects

This research project aims to understand: What are the main features of Canadian democracy promotion? How did the initiatives of U.S. democracy promotion impact Canada’s initial democracy promotion involvements? What was Canada's motivation in founding the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development, later renamed Rights and Democracy? How do the Harper and Trudeau governments differentiate on democracy promotion? What is the future of Canada’s democracy promotion?

Canada has played a significant role in democracy promotion since the 1980's as a liberal democratic state and part of the Western World. Taking into consideration both the Mulroney government and Harper government’s approaches towards democracy promotion, Canada’s waning engagement on democracy promotion seemed to change when the Trudeau government put more emphasis on democracy supporting institutions. However, creating a new agency committed to democracy promotion is still not on the Canadian government's agenda. Therefore, this project critically analyzes the concept of democracy promotion and Canada’s role in democracy promotion by focusing on past practices, operations of organizations, and discourses of governments.


Clayton Chin
Visiting Researcher: 2018/10 - 2018/12
clayton.chin@unimelb.edu.au

Project:
Multicultural Nationalism: Political Belonging and Community for Diverse States

During his time with the Centre, Clayton Chin focused on completing two papers addressing the question of reconsidering the nature of political community under conditions of diverse cultural populations. The first paper focused on the concept of belonging, examining its treatment in critical and normative literatures, and reconciling them through a model of “multicultural belonging”. The second paper re-examined the relationship between multiculturalism and nationalism, outlining the space and conditions for a multicultural form of nationalism. Both are part of a larger theoretical and empirical project entitled Multicultural Nationalism: Political Belonging and Identity in the Age of Diversity.