Equity Services

Equity Services
Equity Services

Council Membership

Membership Structure

The Principal appoints all members. Council members will consist of staff, faculty and student representatives.  Members may sit on the Council of Employment Equity for two years with a term lasting from October 1 until September 30.

In March, the Secretary to the Committee will solicit nominations from all employee groups, including Unions and Associations.  Nominations will also be solicited from the Aboriginal Council.  In keeping with the spirit of the FCP, members of the four designated groups will be particularly encouraged to apply.

The Ex-Officio membership will consist of: the Provost and VP (Academic)or Designate; the Associate VP (Human Resources) or Designate; the Director, Human Rights Office or Designate; the Equity Advisor and representatives from the AMS and SGPS.

The Principal will appoint the Chair of the Council to a three-year term from a list of nominees recommended by the Council. To facilitate this process, a Nominating Sub-Committee of the Council shall convene in March of the year the current Chair's term is expiring. The nominating sub-committee shall consist of two members, as well as one ex-officio member and the Equity Advisor.

Please see the CEE new member orientation for further information.


Chair: Dr. Gordon Smith, School of Music, Faculty of Arts and Science

Coordinator: Heidi Penning, Equity Advisor, Equity Office

Employee Group Representatives

Name Unit/Department Employee Group
Janice Belanger Film and Media CUPE Local 254
Lorraine Chick Family Medicine ONA Local 067
Derek Cole Physical Plant Services CUPE Local 229
Mary Claire Pappas Equity Officer, PSAC PSAC Local 901
Alexandra Cooper Stauffer Library CUPE Local 1302
Tracy Beckett Family Health Team OPSEU (non-nursing staff)
Shiela Hutchison Career Services USW Local 2010
Rosemary Lysaght Rehabilitation Therapy QUFA
Gordon Smith Faculty of Arts and Science Aboriginal Council
Pat Sullivan Art Centre - Agnes Etherington Member at Large
Vacant   USW (Academic Assistants)

Ex-Officio Members

Name Title Office
Dan McKeown Director of Faculty Relations Provost & VP Academic
Stephanie Simpson Executive Director Human Rights and Equity Office
  Equity Representative AMS
Margaret Goslin HR Consultant Human Resources
Chuck Vetere Psychologist Student Wellness
  SGPS Representative SGPS
Robert M. Rittwage Aboriginal Representative Aboriginal Council