Financial Services

Financial Services

site header

Research Accounting (RA)

Queen’s Research Accounting supports the research environment at Queen’s by providing expert advice, financial accountability and management of all research funds. The department works closely with funding agencies, researchers, administrative support, Strategic Procurement Services, and University Research Services (URS) to ensure adherence to funding guidelines and policies.

RA manages the post-award functions for all research grants and contracts at the University. This includes monitoring cash flows and expenditures, communicating with funding agencies and financial reporting. RA also provides support in the preparation of year-end financial statements. Research is a significant contributor to the operations results for Queen’s.

The core responsibilities of RA include: 

  • Providing training, leadership and guidance to the research community on the eligibility of expenses and financial processes
  • Establishing and administering projects in the University’s financial system for research grants and contracts
  • Post-award monitoring, including monitoring deficits, expense eligibility and authorization
  • Acting as a key liaison with funding agencies around financial matters, including during audits or monitoring visits
  • Supporting all financial regulatory reporting requirements related to research projects
  • Producing management reports to support internal cost allocations, year-end reporting, and research partners (hospitals, etc.)

Research Projects by Finance Contact (pdf, 595KB)

Research Accounting Contacts by Area of Responsibility (pdf, 22KB)

Research Accounting Organization Chart (pdf, 198KB)

Research Accounting Client Satisfaction Report – Updated August 2017 (pdf, 472KB)

Research Over-Spending Procedure

Other Research Policies and Procedures


Name Title (613) 533-6000 Ext. E-mail
Louisa Jennings  Associate Director, Research Accounting x79366 louisa.jennings@queensu.ca
Kathleen Harrison-Clayton Financial Systems Analyst x74159 kathleen.clayton@queensu.ca
Julia Hodgson Research Accounting and Auditing Analyst x78477 julia.hodgson@queensu.ca
Nasser Hossenbaccus Research Accounting Officer x75737 nasser.hossenbaccus@queensu.ca
Amber Kashif Research Accounting and Auditing Analyst x75310 ak196@queensu.ca
Young-Tae Kim Research Accounting Officer x78495 kimyt@queensu.ca
Sherry Legislador Coordinator, Research Accounting x75825 s.legislador@queensu.ca
Tyler Robinson Manager, Research Accounting x79647 tyler.robinson@queensu.ca
Jane Rogers Research Accounting and Auditing Analyst x77493 rogersje@queensu.ca
Tamie Whetstone Research Accounting Administrator x77627 tamie.whetstone@queensu.ca
Sabrina Zaffino Research Accounting and Auditing Analyst x75696 sabrina.zaffino@queensu.ca