Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Search form

Media Advisory - Law professors band together against President Trump's executive orders

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Queen’s Law professor Sharry Aiken, together with a group of Canadian refugee law professors from the University of British Columbia, University of Victoria, University of Toronto and Osgoode Hall Law School have issued a letter (attached) to Immigration and Refugees Minister The Honourable Ahmed D. Hussen.

The letter sharply condemns President Trump’s Executive Orders, calling for Canada to suspend the Canada-US Safe Third Country Agreement. The Agreement is part of the US - Canada Smart Border Action Plan and says refugee claimants are required to request refugee protection in the first safe country they arrive in.

The United States is the only country that is designated as a safe third country by Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The letter started circulating yesterday (Monday) at mid-day and so far has garnered more than 200 signatures.

Related Experts