Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Search form

Revised travel ban signed by President Trump

Monday, March 6, 2017

Queen's University immigration and refugee law expert Sharry Aiken is available to comment on the signing of a revised travel ban by President Trump.

The ban makes a number of adjustments from the previous executive order, which was suspended by the courts last month. This travel ban will not apply to Iraq, based on its enhanced screening and reporting measures. The remaining six countries from the original ban - Iran, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen - will be subject to a prohibition on travel to the U.S. for 90 days. Existing visa holders from these nations will be exempt from the ban. The ban will go into effect on Mar. 16, 10 days from signing, as opposed to the immediate enforcement of the prior ban.Syrian refugees will be treated the same way as other refugees. The original executive order banned Syrian refugees indefinitely and paused other refugees for 120 days.

Professor Aiken says the exemption for valid visa holders is a welcome development, though the order itself still raises the same concerns as the original - including the loss of United States leadership on refugee protection and its impact on refugees globally.

Professor Aiken is an associate professor at Queen’s Law. She is an expert on immigration and refugee law and has appeared before the Supreme Court of Canada in a number of precedent setting immigration cases. Her research focuses on the controversies, complexities and challenges posted by immigration and border security.

Please note she is available for phone interviews at 416-529-0379.

To arrange an interview, please contact communications officer Chris Armes (613-533-6000 ext. 77513 or chris.armes@queensu.ca) or Anne Craig (613-533-2877 or anne.craig@queensu.ca) at Queen’s University News and Media Services Department in Kingston, Ont., Canada.

Follow Queen’s News and Media Services on Twitter: http://twitter.com/QueensuMedia.

Related Experts