Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Search form

For The Record: Oct. 5

For the Record provides postings of appointment, committee, grant, award, PhD examination, and other notices set out by collective agreements and university policies and processes. It is the university’s primary vehicle for sharing this information with our community.

The next issue of For the Record will be published Thursday, Oct. 19. The deadline for submitting information is Tuesday, Oct. 17. For the Record is published bi-weekly throughout the academic year and monthly during the summer.

Submit For the Record information for posting to Gazette Editor Andrew Carroll.


Advisory Review Committee, Centre for International and Defence Policy (CIDP), School of Policy Studies

In accordance with the Senate Policy on Procedures Governing the Establishment, Reporting and Review of Research Centres, Institutes and other entities at Queen’s University, David Walker, Executive Director, School of Policy Studies, is pleased to announce the membership of the Advisory Review Committee for the Centre for International and Defence Policy (CIDP) School of Policy Studies five-year review. The committee comprises:

  • Stéphanie Bélanger, Co-chair of the Advisory Review Committee; the associate director of the CIMVHR and associate professor, French Department, Royal Military College of Canada
  • Margaret Biggs, Co-chair of the Advisory Review Committee; Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy, School of Policy Studies
  • Colin Farrelly, Professor and Queen’s National Scholar, Department of Political Studies
  • Thomas Hughes, PhD Student, Department of Political Studies
  • ​Rachel Laforest, Associate Director and MPA Program Director, School of Policy Studies

To assist with the review, faculty, staff, students and members of the University community are invited to submit their comments to be shared with the committee to CIDP Advisory Review Committee, c/o Celia Russell russellc@queensu.ca, School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University, by Oct. 23, 2017. For more information on CIDP, please visit the website: http://www.queensu.ca/cidp/home

Submissions will be shared only with the members of the Review Committee and will become part of the review process; anonymous submissions will not be accepted.

Selection Committee to find new Head of the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Christopher Mechefske’s term as Acting Head in the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering ends Dec. 31, 2017.

In accordance with the Article 41 of the Collective Agreement between Queen’s University Faculty Association and Queen’s University, a selection committee has been formed to assist the Provost and Vice Principal (Academic) in the selection of a department head. The Selection Committee has the following membership:

  • Elected faculty: Ron Anderson, Claire Davies, Mark Daymond, Michael Rainbow, and David Rival.
  • Appointed Members: Natalie Tanczak (undergraduate student), Mark Kellenberger (PhD candidate), Andrew Bryson (staff member), Kent Novakowski, Head, Civil Engineering.
  • Non-Voting Member: Kimberley McAuley, Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies.
  • Chair: Kevin Deluzio, Dean, Engineering and Applied Science.
  • Recording Secretary: Dayna Smith, Engineering and Applied Science.

Members of the university community are invited to comment on the present state and future prospects of the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering and to submit names of possible candidates for the headship to Dean Kevin J. Deluzio (Chair), c/o Dayna Smith (dayna.smith@queensu.ca) Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science by October 27, 2017.  Letters will be reviewed by the selection committee and will become part of the record of decision-making.


Job Title: Manager, Career Education and Coaching Services
Department: Smith School of Business
Competition: J0717-0218
Successful Candidate: Sophie Turner

Job Title: Relationship Manager
Department: Smith School of Business
Competition: J0617-0151
Successful Candidate: WITHDRAWN

Job Title: Gift Services Assistant (USW Local 2010)
Department: Gift Services, Office of Advancement
Competition: J0817-0058
Successful Candidate: Lauren Moloney (Annaul Giving, Office of Advancement)

Job Title: Graduate Assistant (USW Local 2010)
Department: Faculty of Education
Competition: J0817-0250
Successful Candidate: Nicole Pennell (Smith Development & AR)

Job Title: Network Specialist (USW Local 2010)
Department: Information Technology Services
Competition: J0917-0381
Successful Candidate: John Fisher

Job Title: Gift Administrator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Gift Services, Office of Advancement
Competition: J0817-0055
Successful Candidate: Shelaine Chapple

Job Title: Student Conduct Case Manager
Department: Student Affairs
Competition: J0617-1091
Successful Candidate: Andrea Pape

Job Title: Director, Office of Indigenous Initiatives
Department: Office of Indigenous Initiatives
Competition: J0617-0479
Successful Candidate: Janice Hill

Job Title: An Clachan Community Coordinator
Department: Residences (Housing and Ancillary Services)
Competition: J0617-0590
Successful Candidate: Amy Case

Job Title: Manager, Recruitment & Admissions
Department: Smith School of Business
Competition: J0817-0603
Successful Candidate: Maryann Young (Professional Graduate Program Services)

Job Title: Electrician (CUPE Local 229)
Department: Physical Plant Services
Competition: J0617-0817
Successful Candidate: Andrew Richmond

Job Title: Academic Compensation Analyst
Department: Faculty Relations, Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)
Competition: J0617-0198
Successful Candidate: Craig Braund (Human Resources)

Job Title: Aboriginal Community Engagement Coordinator
Department: Aboriginal Community Engagement Coordinator
Competition: J0817-0389
Successful Candidate: Michelle Kennedy

Job Title: Coordinator, Facility Operations (USW Local 2010)
Department: Athletics and Recreation Facilities
Competition: J0617-0810
Successful Candidate: Kennedy Kay

Job Title: Research Coordinator
Department: Medicine - Gastroenterology
Competition: J0617-0254
Successful Candidate: Sherri Nicol

Job Title: Marketing, Communications and Events Assistant (USW Local 2010)
Department: School of Nursing
Competition: J0817-0079
Successful Candidate: Justine Mayhew