Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Search form

Learn how Queen's is planning for our safe return to campus.

For The Record: Dec. 14

For the Record provides postings of appointment, committee, grant, award, and other notices set out by collective agreements and university policies and processes. It is the university’s primary vehicle for sharing this information with our community.

The next issue of For the Record will be published Thursday, Jan. 18. The deadline for submitting information is Tuesday, Jan. 16. For the Record is published bi-weekly throughout the academic year and monthly during the summer.

Submit For the Record information for posting to Gazette Editor Andrew Carroll.


Headship Selection Committee for Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining

Dr. P. D. Katsabanis’ term as head in the Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining ends June 30, 2018.

In accordance with the Article 41 of the Collective Agreement between Queen’s University Faculty Association and Queen’s University, a selection committee has been formed to assist the Provost and Vice Principal (Academic) in the selection of a department head. 

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Elected faculty: Ahmad Ghahreman, Anne Johnson, Sadan Kelebek, Steve McKinnon, Julian Ortiz, and Christopher Pickles.
Appointed Members: Jeffrey Wright (undergraduate student), Denver Cowan (PhD candidate), Oscar Rielo (staff member), Brian Amsden, Head, Chemical Engineering. Non-Voting Member: James Reynolds, Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies.
Chair: Kevin Deluzio, Dean, Engineering and Applied Science.
Recording Secretary: Dayna Smith, Engineering and Applied Science

Members of the university community are invited to comment on the present state and future prospects of the Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining and to submit names of possible candidates for the headship to Dean Kevin J. Deluzio (Chair), c/o Dayna Smith (dayna.smith@queensu.ca) Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science by Jan. 19, 2018.  Letters will be reviewed by the selection committee and will become part of the record of decision-making.


Stephen Scott reappointed GlaxoSmithKline Chair in Neurosciences

Richard Reznick, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, is pleased to announce that Benoit-Antoine Bacon, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), has reappointed Stephen Scott as the GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Chair in Neurosciences, for a five-year period beginning Aug. 1, 2017.

Dr. Scott graduated from the University of Waterloo with his Bachelor of Applied Science and then earned his Master’s in Systems Design Engineering at the University of Waterloo, graduating in 1989. He went on to complete his PhD in Physiology at Queen’s University in 1993 and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in the Département de Physiologie at the Université de Montréal from 1993 to 1995. He became a chercheur adjoint (assistant professor) at the Université de Montréal in 1995.

Dr. Scott first joined the Faculty of Health Sciences at Queen’s as an assistant professor in 1997, and was promoted to full professor in 2004. His research explores the neural, behavioural, and biomechanical aspects of voluntary motor actions. He invented the KINARM robot used to quantify upper limb motor function and is actively using this technology to develop novel behavioural biomarkers to quantify sensory, motor and cognitive impairments associated with neurological diseases/injuries. 

He is co-founder and chief scientific officer of BKIN Technologies, a Kingston company that commercializes the KINARM robotic technology. There are now more than 80 robotic systems in 12 countries used for basic and clinical research.

Holding the GSK Chair in Neurosciences since 2012, Dr. Scott has conducted world-leading research into understanding brain function while at the same time translating his findings into real-world clinical tools. His pioneering research in brain function and measuring the effects of brain injury also garnered him the Barbara Turnbull Research Award in 2012, through the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. He has authored more than 120 journal articles, including many in the Nature series of journals, and given over 170 invited talks. 


Job Title: Human Resources Advisor
Department: Human Resources
Competition: J0917-1054
Successful Candidate: Kayla Fenn

Job Title: Internship Coordinator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Career Services
Competition: J0917-1001
Successful Candidate: Melissa Marcucci Grant (Career Services)

Job Title: Instructional Design Multimedia Support Analyst (USW Local 2010)
Department: Continuing Distance Studies
Competition: J0717-0078
Successful Candidate: Nadia Morel

Job Title: Research Technician
Department: Civil Engineering
Competition: J1017-0412
Successful Candidate: Justin Bennett

Job Title: Departmental and Financial Assistant (USW Local 2010)
Department: Mathematics and Statistics
Competition: J1017-0264
Successful Candidate: Rianna Lewis

Job Title: Multimedia Support Analyst (USW Local 2010)
Department: Online Learning and Development, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Competition: J0917-0173
Successful Candidate: Daniel Clarke

Job Title: Administrative Coordinator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Office of Professional Development and Educational Scholarship
Competition: J0917-1553
Successful Candidate: Allyson James (Faculty Development)

Job Title: Program Coordinator, JD Studies (USW Local 2010)
Department: Faculty of Law
Competition: J1017-1053
Successful Candidate: Margaret Gordon (Awards)

Job Title: Digital Marketing Coordinator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Faculty of Education
Competition: J1117-0309
Successful Candidate: Erin York (Special Projects - HR and Development)

Job Title: Trades Helper (CUPE Local 229)
Department: Physical Plant Services
Competition: J1017-1231
Successful Candidate: Keith Wilde (Physical Plant Services) and Bradley Amell (Physical Plant Services)

Job Title: Cancer Research Monitor/Auditor
Department: Canadian Cancer Trials Group
Competition: J0617-1076
Successful Candidate: Danny Ly

Job Title: Project and Administrative Coordinator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Medicine
Competition: J1017-0352
Successful Candidate: Krista Knight (Postgraduate Medical Education)

Job Title: Research Accounting Officer (USW Local 2010)
Department: Faculty of Health Sciences, Financial Services
Competition: J0917-1458
Successful Candidate: Ian Rand (Financial Services & Faculty of Health Sciences)

Job Title: Educational Consultant (USW Local 2010)
Department: Department of Medicine - Nephrology
Competition: J1017-0233
Successful Candidate: Elizabeth Pero (Medicine - Nephrology)

Job Title: Administrative Coordinator (USW Local 2010)
Department: Office of Proffesional Development and Educational Scholarship
Competition: J0917-1553
Successful Candidate: Allyson James

Job Title: Personal Counsellor (USW Local 2010)
Department: Student Counselling Services
Competition: J0817-0174
Successful Candidate: Laurie Hooke