Geological Science and Engineering

Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering
Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering

Current Faculty


To see a complete profile for one of our faculty members, click on the faculty name

Alexander Braun 
braun@queensu.ca 
Geophysics
Professor

Jennifer Day
day.jennifer@queensu.ca 
Geological Engineering 
Assistant Professor 

Mark Diederichs  
diederim@queensu.ca 
Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique 
Professor

Georgia Fotopoulos 
georgia.fotopoulos@queensu.ca 
Geodesy/Geomatics Engineering 
Professor

 

Laurent Godin  
godinl@queensu.ca 
Structural Geology and Tectonics  
Professor

Rob Harrap  
harrap@queensu.ca 
Structural Geology
Geotechnique/Geomatics 
Lecturer Continuing Adjunct

 

Anna Harrison 
anna.harrison@queensu.ca 
Aqueous/Environmental Geochemistry 
Assistant Professor

Jean Hutchinson 
hutchinj@queensu.ca 
Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique 
Professor

Noel James  
jamesn@queensu.ca  
Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology  
Professor

 

Heather Jamieson   
jamieson@queensu.ca 
Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique  
Professor

 

Matthew Leybourne 
ml164@queensu.ca 
Geochemistry 
Professor 

Daniel Layton-Matthews 
dlayton@queensu.ca  
Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
Petrology/Geochemistry
Associate Professor

Guy Narbonne 
narbonne@queensu.ca  
Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology 
Professor

Gema Olivo  
olivo@queensu.ca  
Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration 
Professor 

Peir Pufahl
pufahl@queensu.ca
Sedimentary Geology 
Professor 

Vicki Remenda 
remendav@queensu.ca 
Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique 
Associate Professor
Head of Department

Christopher Spencer  
c.spencer@queensu.ca  
Tectonics and Geochemistry 
Assistant Professor

Elisabeth Steel 
 e.steel@queensu.ca  
Sedimentology
Quantitative Stratigraphy 
Assistant Professor 

Bas Vriens  
bas.vriens@queensu.ca 
GeoEnvironmental Engineering 
Assistant Professor

 

Faculty - Active Emeritus

Name Telephone Email Research Area
Alan Clark

613-533-6187

clarka@queensu.ca
  • Economic Geology/Mineral Exploration
Robert Dalrymple 

613-533-6186

dalrympl@queensu.ca
  • Sedimentology,Sedimentary Geochemistry/Paleobiology
John Dixon 

613-533-6172

john.dixon@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology
Herb Helmstaedt

613-533-6175

helmstae@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology
Ron Peterson peterson@queensu.ca
  • Mineralogy
Professor

Raymond Price

613-533-6542

pricera@queensu.ca
  • Petrology/Structural Geology

Faculty - Cross Appointed

Name Department Telephone Email Research Area
Nicholas Vlachopoulos 

Civil Engineering
Royal Military College

613-541-6000 ext 6398

vlachopoulos-n@rmc.ca
  • Applied Geo-Environmental Science & Geotechnique
George Bevan

Classics
Queen's University

613-533-6000
ext 78847

bevan@queensu.ca  
Chris Omelon Geography and Planning 613-533-6000 ext. 79036 c.omelon@queensu.ca
  • Microbial geochemistry’

Faculty - Adjunct

Name Research Area Company/Agency Affiliation
Antonio Abellan
  • Engineering Geology / Natural Hazards / Remote sensing techniques / Modelling
Scott Polar Research Institute / Department of Geography, University of Cambridge Hutchinson
Yvonne Bone
  • Geochemistry, Geology, Geomicrobiology

University of Adelaide James
Alfredo Camacho
  • Tectonics and geochronology
University of Manitoba Godin
Claire Chamberlain
  • Economic Geology (Field Mapping, Geochemistry, Geochronology)
Teck Resources Ltd Olivo

Robert Dalrymple

    Department
Shona de Jong
  • Applied geo-environmental science 
  • Natural hazards and climate change 
  • Economic Geology
Laurentian University QFIR
Chiara Frassi
  • Structural Geology/Tectonics

University of Pisa

Godin
Danielle Fortin
  • Geomicrobiology
University of Ottawa Jamieson
James Franklin
  • Economic Geology

Franklin Geosciences Ltd.

Layton-Matthews

Michael Gadd

    Layton-Matthews

Dave Gauthier

    Hutchinson/Diederichs
James Gehling
  • Palaeontology/Palaeoecology
  • Stratigraphy, Taphonomy and Sedimentology
South Australian Museum Narbonne
Eric Hiatt
  • Sedimentology

University of Wisconsin

James

Karen Hudson-Edwards

  • Environmental Geochemistry and Mineralogy
University College of London - Birkbeck Institute for Earth and Planetary Sciences Jamieson
Phillippa Huntsman-Mapila
  • Minerals and Metals
  • Environmental Geology
Natural Resources Canada, Mine Closure and Ecosystem Risk Management Jamieson

Kathy Kalenchuk

  • Geomechanical Engineering, Rock Mechanics
Mine Design Engineering Inc. Diederichs
Dawn Kellett
  • Geochronology, Thermochronology, Tectonics

Geological Survey of Canada, NRCan

Godin
Matt Lato
  • Applied remote sensing
  • Geohazard risk assessment

BGC Engineering Inc.

Diederichs/Hutchinson
William Martindale
  • Carbonate Sedimentology 
  • Oil and Gas Exploration

W Martindale Consulting Ltd.

James
Beth McClenaghan
  • Geochemistry

Geological Survey of Canada

Layton-Matthews
James Miller
  • Igneous Petrology
  • Metallogeny
  • Field Geology

University of Minnesota Duluth

Olivo
Michael Parsons
  • Environmental Geochemistry
Natural Resources Canada, Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) Jamieson
Matt Perras
  • Engineering Geology
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich Diederichs/Hutchinson
Jan Peter
  • Economic Geology
  • Geochemistry
Geological Survey of Canada Layton-Matthews
Christa Pufahl     Department
Daniel Schulze
  • Petrology
University of Toronto Peterson
Leigh Smith

 

  Department
Marc St.Onge
  • Metamorphic Petrology, Tectonics
Geological Survey of Canada (Natural Resources Canada) Layton-Matthews

Kimberly Tait

    Layton-Mathews
Ione Taylor
  • Natural Resource Management; Applied Petroleum Geology
Queen’s Earth and Energy Resources Leadership Program Hutchinson

Ted Urbancic

    Hutchinson
Brad Wilson     Department