Department of Gender Studies

Department of Gender Studies
Department of Gender Studies

Giving to Gender Studies

We would like to thank those alumni and friends who have given their much-appreciated support to our department over the years. Your donations make a difference, helping us to provide dynamic and innovative academic programs for undergraduate and graduate students alike. To give online to Gender Studies, please click this dedicated link:

Awards and Bursaries

Queen's Awards website with listing of bursaries available to Faculty of Arts and Science students

Prizes, Scholarships and Awards available to Undergraduate and Graduate Students (pdf 343kb)

Faculty Teaching Award

2018-19 Teaching Award Winner Karen Lawford

Picture of Karen Lawford winning the Gender Studies Teaching Award

This teaching award is designed for faculty who are adjuncts, core or cross-appointed to Gender Studies and teach a GNDS course. Any student enrolled in one of these courses can send a paragraph nominating your instructor to Kathy Baer in the Department of Gender Studies, Mackintosh-Corry Hall D508. The award is given at the Annual Open House.

Teaching Award Previous Winners
2009-10 Katherine McKittrick
2010-11 Dana Olwan
2011-12 Healy Thompson
2012-13 Melissa Houghtaling
2013-14 Nancy Butler
2014-15 Scott Morgensen
2015-16 Jane Tolmie
2016-17 Trish Salah
2017-18 Erin Clow


Beverley Baines Award for Outstanding Service

2018 Bev Baines Award Winner - Marion Gonsalves

Marion winner of the Beverley Baines Award

The Beverley Baines Award for Outstanding Service in Gender, Women's and Feminist Studies will reflect Professor Baines' steadfast commitment to expanding and enhancing the Department of Gender Studies and the meaningful committee work required to support a complex feminist vision at Queen's University. The award will be presented annually to an undergraduate or graduate student who has shown exceptional and notable service in the Department of Gender Studies. The areas of service recognized include, but are not limited to: contributions to the Gender Studies Department Student Council (DSC), Gender Studies Committee Work, and/or Feminist Activist service on or off campus.

Bev Baines Award Nomination Details and Previous Winners

Nominees must:
a) be a Gender Studies major, medial or minor or MA Graduate Student.
b) have not received the award previously
Process: Anyone may nominate the candidate (faculty, staff, students, service agencies); self nominations are accepted. Supporting materials to be assembled by the nominator and must include: a nominating letter and a short overview (about 200-300 words) of the nominee's service work. All nominations for the Beverley Baines Service award must be forwarded to c/o Kathy Baer ( The collected nominations will be read and assessed by the Service Award Adjudicating Committee, consisting of two members of the DSC, who are exempt from receiving the award, and the Undergraduate Chair of Gender Studies. The Service Award Adjudicating Committee will collectively vote on and decide the award recipient. The award will be presented annually at the Gender Studies Colloquium.
Deadline: the deadline for nominations is March 15 annually.
2012 Winner Sarah Jacobs
2013 Winner Yasmine Djerbal
2014 Winner Michelle Tam
2015 Alannah Johnson
2016 Emily Osborne
2017 Christopher Bennett


Kathleen Herman Essay Prize

Kathleen Herman photo

2018-19 Prize Winner Samuel Maclennan for the essay "Queering Mary in Christian Feminist Theological Literature" submitted by Professor Tracy Trothen for RELS 312, Christian Feminist Theology.

Kathleen A. Herman Prize in Gender Studies was established by friends, colleagues and former students to honour Kathleen Herman (photo at left) for her wisdom, determination, perseverance in advancing the status of women at Queen's. Donations to fund this annual prize can be made by clicking on the "Donate Now" button below or go to


Hendler Graduate Student Award

This award was established in July 2011 with a gift to the University from Mr. Mortimer Hendler, father of Sue Hendler. Sue, who died in 2009 after a brave battle with cancer, was Associate Professor in the School of Urban and Regional Planning and served as Head of the Department of Women's Studies for two terms. This award is granted to a full-time graduate student, based on academic excellence.

Previous Winners of Hendler Award
2011-12 Carla Moore
2012-13 Aarzoo Singh
2013-14 Katie Thibault
2014-15 Avery Everhart
2015-16 Brett Willes


Poole Family Graduate Student Award

2017-18 Poole Award Winner and Academic Excellence Award Natalie Zhang

Flower award placeholder

This award has been established by Alice Poole (Arts, 1942) and the candidate is selected on the basis of "academic excellence by a Master's Student in Gender Studies who has a research interest in studies related to increasing understanding of and action on improvement of the status of women".

Previous Winners of the Poole Award
Previous winners:
2012-13 Yasmine Djerbal
2013-14 Maria-Teresa Matani
2014-15 Jamie Harnum
2015-16 Vanessa Yzaguirre-Robles
2016-17 Sarah Carneiro
2017-18 Kim Tran


Other Graduate Awards

flower photo placeholder

Muna Dahir, recipient of the 2018-19 R.S. McLaughlin Award

Sammi and Olivia Anderson Scholarship

Olivia Landry, recipient of the 2018-19 Margaret Anderson Graduate Scholarship

Sofie Graduate Award

Sofie Vlaad, recipient of the 2018-19 Gender Studies Graduate  Award

Sammi and Maria Entrance Scholarship

Maria O'Leary, recipient of the 2018-19 Entrance Scholarship

Sammi and Dorcas International Tuition Award

Dorcas Okyere, recipient of the 2018-19 International Tuition Award